#348/365 My friendly watch repairer, ช่างซ่อมนาฬิกาที่ใจดีมาก, the OPED project.

in #colourfulphotography6 years ago (edited)

Whenever I have problems with my wrist watches and alarm clocks, I would go to see my friendly watch repairer at Robinson mall by the river. It sounds funny that I still use alarm clocks and watches as most people I know use mobile phones instead of traditional clocks or watches.

IMG_1900.jpg

Several years ago I remembered having to check out the latest and best looking straps for my old watches. This shop used to stock many different kinds of straps for watches, especially during the trendy Swatch watch era. I got myself a limited edition Swatch watch and some friends started a collection of these watches. I had a new metal and a leather straps for my two watches. It was such a big thing for me, choosing the right design and colours for watches. This kind of obsession seems irrelevant nowadays. However, there is another genre of expensive time pieces which signify people's social status and class; these are not called the humble watches, but 'time pieces'.

IMG_1903.jpg

Whenever I walk past this watch repairer, I feel sorry for him. He is a very nice and kind man with lots of patience and honesty. I once asked him to check out an old Omega watch for me; he gave a very honest estimate and suggested when a big repair would be necessary. He even warned me about how some dishonest repairer could change the real parts with fake. I knew that this watch would fetch quite a sum as it has become collectable. This old Omega watch was given to me by my father a few years before he passed away; so I could not be without this watch. I often see my friend sitting there waiting for customers with a sense of boredom. What else could he do? He was trained as a watch mechanics and repairer so it would be very difficult for him to earn living other ways. Sometimes I would bring him four broken alarm clocks to be repaired. But he told me that it would cost too much to repair and change some parts. So, I ended up buying new alarm clocks every time. Besides I have started to use my iPhone as my alarm clock, I am dependent on the snooze button.

IMG_1905.jpg

This profession is a dying craft and it would be much more difficult for people who do not belong to the digital age to survive in the near future. There is such a big gap between the rich and the poor in Thai society. The digital divide, which is the gap between those who have the ability and skills to use and harness digital technology and those who could not, will make the division between the rich and the poor much worse in the future. I could see drastic changes in this lifetime, say within ten years when the Internet of things (IoT) and ubiquitous computing become available in Thailand. With Artificial Intelligence and deep learning, the brave new world is gradually being implemented without people's awareness of the far reaching consequences these advance technology will eventually affect their livelihood one day.

IMG_1906.jpg

เมื่อเราต้องการเปลี่ยนถ่านนาฬิกา หรือซ่อมนาฬิกาปลุก เราจะตรงไปหาร้านซ่อมนาฬิกาที่ห้างโรบินสันที่บางรัก ช่างคนนี้เป็นเพื่อนที่ดีมาก ใจดีและใจเย็นมาก มีความซื่อตรงมากด้วย เราเคยเอานาฬิกาเก่าให้เขาลองประเมินราคาซ่อม เขาให้คำแนะนำอย่างดีว่ารุ่นนี้เป็นรุ่นที่หาอาหลั่ยยากและแพงมาก เขาแนะนำให้คอยจนกว่ามีความจำเป็นที่ต้องซ่อมใหญ่ และยังเตือนเราว่าให้ระวังจะโดนเปลี่ยนส่วนประกอบของแท้เป็นของปลอม เพราะช่างคนอื่นสามารถขายเครื่องได้ราคาแพงมาก เวลาเดินผ่านร้านนี้ก็สงสารเขามากที่นั่งคอยลูกค้าทั้งวัน แต่ก่อนดราจำได้ว่าเข่าจะมีสายนาฬิกามากมายหลายแบบ และหลายสี ทำให้เราต้องคอยไปส่องสายใหม่ๆเพื่อเปลี่ยนให้นาฬิกาดูดีขึ้น เราต้องใช้เวลาเลือกและตัดสินใจนาน ตอนนั้นคนไทยกำลังเห่อนาฬิกาสว๊อชกันมาก เขาก็มีสายนาฬิกาให้เปลี่ยนตามแฟชั่น เพื่อนบางคนสะสมนาฬิกาสว๊อชหลายสิบเรือนทีเดียว

IMG_1907.jpg

เราคิดว่าอาชีพช่างที่ใช้ฝีมือแบบเดิมๆ จะอยู่ยากมากในอนาคต เพราะเรากำลังก้าวเข้าสู่สังคมยุคดิจิตอลอย่างเต็มตัว เราคิดว่าการเปลี่ยนแปลงอย่างมหาศาลจะเกิดขึ้นในช่วงชีวิตของเรานี้ คิดว่าคงไม่เกินสิบปี แต่สังคมไทยมีช่องว่างระหว่างคนรวยกับคนจนมากอยู่แล้ว เมื่อมาพบกับช่องว่างดิจิตอล จะยิ่งทำให้คนจนแย่ลงไปมาก คนรวยมีเงินและความรู้ในการเข้าถึงและใช้ประโยชน์ จากเทคโนโลยีดิจิตอล ซึ่งทำให้เขายิ่งได้เปรียบและมีโอกาสในการสร้างความก้าวหน้าเพิ่มขึ้นไปอีก คนไทยกำลังสลึมสลือเดินไปสู่สังคมดิจิตอลมากขึ้นไปเรื่อยๆ โดยไม่มีความรู้เท่าทันถึงผลกระทบ ต่อการดำรงชีวิตและการเลี้ยงชีพในอนาคต

IMG_1901.jpg

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

Cheers.



Beware of bad bots
Check your SP, voting power and Upvotes

Sort:  

I can not go outside without my wristwatch.
I miss them!
On onе hand a watch, on the other has a bracelet.
I do not wear them at home, I have several alarm clocks in different rooms.
And all my friends also wear watches.
In our city there is also a workshop for repairing watches.
In order to have more income, they not only repair the watch, but also sell them.
And they sell some other little things.
It seems to me that the wristwatch will always be worn.

This is great news for the watch repairers and the watch makers! I think my watch repairer may want to migrate to your country but he couldn’t speak the language,

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-13T10:05:27
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 1174.05/200.00
Total Photos: 161
Total comments: 169
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Many thanks!
Cheers

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @kaminchan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you very much!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kaminchan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01