Aerial. Aurora. | 🌌| "Try to take a long exposure at 800 km/h... " |

in #colourfulphotography6 years ago (edited)

Aerial. Aurora.


PSX_20180426_215610-01_wm.jpg


Going 800 km/h I sat there fully covered in blankets trying to capture this 5 seconds long exposure. Capturing the picture above took over 40 times until I was satisfied. My body was hurting everywhere since I had no tripod with me on the plane to stabilize my camera.(why would you ever?)

While trying to work these insanely beautiful Northern lights I was laughed at by my neighboring passenger. She didn't think I would succeed and well.. I kinda had to prove her otherwise ever since she made that statement right :P?

I spotted these mysterious tints on my way back from San Fransico while flying over Greenland back to Holland. The sad thing is that I traveled to Iceland two weeks before this plane trip, and sadly I didn't see any of the beautiful aurora while being there!! Live made up for that sad experience by throwing me these photons just a little time later when I was least expecting them

Just try to imagine how it must have looked like, me sitting there all energetic after 5 hours of flight, all covered up to keep out as much light as possible from the cabin.

See my edits way below :)


PSX_20180426_214546_wm.jpg


Post-Processing .GIF

ezgif-3-a64ede93fe.gif


Shot with a Canon fd 50mm @1.4 on my Sony A7II


PSX_20171229_160240-02.jpeg


Thanks for your time, Feedback is always appreciated!

"Emotions are there to be expressed, not to be suppressed and bottled up. I do photography in order to take my mind away from the dilemma's I encounter during my medical internships."

💞🎥💞

To receive an notification whenever I start a LIVE editing broadcast:

>>Sign up for email notifications <<

thi-js. Out.

Up-vote, re-steem and follow

PSX_20171229_160240-02.jpeg

Sort:  

beautiful pic

definitief logo-klein.png

Je blog is opgenomen in de Alldutch-Creations Recap #3

who doesn't love this!? just amazing, thank you for sharing with us on the other side of the world- the stuff dreams are made of!!

Haha! The beauty of internet! (a decentralized one)


t.

Pretty awesome pic!

Great shot! I have been known to spend exhorbinant amounts of time and energy to get something in the dark. Sometimes it pans out, sometimes it doesn't. Looks like you were successful here. I wish I could see them in person though...

A nice unique idea, blended with creativity

Unique. Mwa. Rather just hard haha


t.

Beautiful shot.... Looks more like a fairytale

Well lets be honest. Live is quite the fairytale


t.

Sure, it's more than a fairytale

It's a very good job, you did. Many times we don't have time to enjoy this kind of events. Busy in day to day we forget the wonderful natural events that God gives us.

The insane thing was that litterly all people seating next to me didint care at all about this magical phenomena..


t.

Unfortunately our present reality blinds us to the wonders that surround us ... sometimes the photos manage to bring us back to that wonderful moment ... or the deep awareness of present.

Holy moly! It's beautiful. Great photos dude!

Awesome captures! I've been chasing the lights myself here in Alaska. It would be amazing to catch them from a plane!

You're having more succes from the ground probably haha!


t.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63138.90
ETH 3290.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89