Sort:  

I remembered our last conversation about giving a free write a try and I did just that. I decided to do a free write to introduce a steem basic giveaway game. It's basically a clone of battleship. Check it out here.

love how vivid it starts out, then the depth of the joke begins

He insisted that his low grades were due to his “femininazi” sociology professor who had it out for him and his “liberal cuck” of an English TA, because he wasn’t a beta like the rest of them. He, like all white men these days, was the victim of discrimination.

He’d read up on The Red Pill’s pickup artist advice and it had never worked, no matter how much he negged college aged girls and exploited their innate desire to be subservient to men.

hahaha classic...

Hahaha thanks! That may or may not be because I didn't realize until I wrote the last sentence of the first paragraph that I was going to write a comedy piece at all. :p Had I known I probably would have done a much lamer job of setting it up. (Lamer? Is that a word? Google dictionary says yes, but I'm skeptical.)

This is why I love freewrites. I think I'm about to write a couple of mediocre paragraphs in comment form that I'm going to post on the @freewritehouse prompt just so they don't kick me out of their contest, and then something weird materializes and I'm like, OH, I KNOW WHAT THIS IS. I LIKE THIS.

It's very good!

This is the story of a depressed fellow, common give the guy a break, he might find love.

Today's prompt is here again.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-238-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-miami

True! Depression is a bitch. Occasionally when I see people like this on the internet I give them the benefit of the doubt for that reason. Unless they're the sort that start advocating for like, actual sex slavery.

Lol this sounds pretty accurate to me. You must be a great human observer!

Bravo! You've captured a character and scene so many of us know or have known. Just, wow.

Hahah thanks! I know it's a cheap shot but I have a slight obsession with incel culture.

hahaha I never heard the word 'incel' before

If you want to lose several hours of your life to a very depressing corner of the internet, check out the r/braincels Subreddit. Or just Google "incel." I'm sorry for introducing you to this slash you're welcome.

You sure can weave fascinating and believable characters. Great job!

Haha, thanks! Hopefully this doesn't hit too close to home for anyone :X

hahahaha

Tragically hilarious - they're an odd sort, for sure, and in no short supply on some of the... uh... less positive parts of the internet.

This actually reminds me of a short story I wrote a while back about a guy desperately trying to fix his computer, only for it to be revealed he was using it for somewhat nefarious purposes... Your character bears many striking resemblances, haha. Great write!

I wanna read it! Share!

I've since read over it again, and, well, it just isn't up to standard, haha. Sorry to disappoint!

Very fluid narration very well written... I really liked it!

Congratulations @malloryblythe! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99