Chronicles Of A Comic 005 - Lifting Up New Comedians

in #comedy6 years ago

Being a comedian is tough, but starting is the hardest part. New comics get on stage and will have bad nights, but something in them tells them to keep going. To keep working on their jokes and keep getting on stage.

Starting out you are doing it for nothing. You will take stage time at any show and try out your jokes and work on your stage presence. There is no money to be made, not for a long time in comedy. Maybe $50 to host a show after you've been doing it for six months, but it may take a year before you are getting paid to do spots. Even then it might be around $75-$100.

In my local town, I'm trying to develop a comedy community, and have been running an open mic for about 3 months now. Tonight I have a big show. I'm doing a qualifier for a big local comedy showcase. There are over 20 local comics and new comics trying for 10 spots on the showcase show. 


I'm also paying each comic that makes it to the showcase show! Now some spots pay only $10 or $20, while the top spot pays $50. It's not a lot of money, but it is symbolic. Many people will be paid to tell jokes for the first time.  The first joke I had published I got $15. lol

This show tonight is a big step for local comedy. We had 7 comedians the first night we did the open mic and tonight we'll have over 20 trying out for a spot. I'm really excited and I can't wait to show some pictures and videos of how the night went.

Check back for Chronicles of a Comic 006 later tonight to see how things went.

The most important thing that established comedians can do to help the new guys is to lift them up. Give them opportunity, and that is what I am trying to do.

Thank you for reading.



Sort:  

Some people like jokes. because jokes can relieve stress and make our hearts happy. I think jokes are important.
Keep spirit and never give up @walkingkeys

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64