The Old-Timers Knew a Thing or Two: Comedy Open Mic Round 13 First Entry

in #comedyopenmic6 years ago

It is difficult to look out at the world, and sometimes even difficult to look at Steemit, and not get frustrated by the actions of many of the individuals involved. I see your concerns in your posts and comments. I do not take these things lightly. For me, It is a reminder of what my old-world German Catholic Grandmother, may she rest in peace, told me when I was six years old.

We sat on a collapsing homestead farmhouse porch in middle Minnesota. We peeled potatoes for supper with paring knives as, in the nearby field, corn rattled and waved in the push of an oncoming late summer thunderstorm.

“In the end,” she said in her thick immigrant accent, “those people are going to die, and there will be no getting into heaven for their souls.” There was a crack of thunder. The air suddenly smelled of rain. I began to fear for my dad and uncles and grandfather who were out getting the hay in before the weather.

“They’ll go down all the way to hell,” Grandma continued, “to a lake of fire where they will burn and scream and never be consumed. They will be hung by the ears from the Devil’s rafters and drained of all hope. Their genitals will be torn and sown back on to be torn again and again. They will be raped with molton shafts of steel, their eyes plucked repeatedly by screeching beaks, and their pores will sweat acid. They will gag from their own stench for all eternity…”

This is when the guys returned and Grandma got distracted and went inside to set the table. I thought about what she said many times as I grew up, and I think about it now when I read the irritation in your posts and comments. It gives me great comfort and peace of mind to this day. Maybe it will help you, also.

Thank you.

Sort:  

always listen to your elders. and cry at your future

it feels like a soothing wave of relief just washed over me.

She was quite the poet.

Your description of Hell reminds me of my Friday night

Amen Grandma!! Rest her soul.

It's stories like these that make me wish I wasn't an atheist.

I am waiting for your next post, about heaven and it makes me happy.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00