You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The armed forces recruitment office (round 25)

I must have gone about it backwards. I took my ASVAB randomly in high school and those recruiters all called me within an hour of each other the day they got released to them. It was a snow day in high school and I told all of them that my road was blocked in (it only sort of was). The Navy recruiter was the only who didn't care. Took him 3 hours to make the 40 minute drive because of the snow, but damn he was committed.

Sort:  

Ha, that's funny.
I didn't take mine until I'd decided to go Navy and then he drove me to MEPS to take it there. When I scored a 97 he walked up and down that hallway bragging to the other recruiters :p
Stupid me didn't know I'd won a big bargaining chip with that kind of score and didn't ask for anything just let them pack me out to boot camp a week later :)
Good times.

Yep. I kind of wish I realized I had as much leverage as I did with a 99 ASVAB. Now I realize why the recruiter was angry at me because I got out of line to see the Nuke recruiter because the two people I was waiting with wouldn't shut up about video games. No regrets.

Yeah.... you too?
They sat me down at the Nuke recruiter table and I left because I saw the other guys sitting at the table and decided that these weren't the sort of guys that I wanted to serve with.
I guess in that respect I don't regret it either. Being with the marines was definitely "character building" I guess you could say. Sure maybe I lost out on a lot better pay, but at that age it's not like I would have been saving or investing it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63892.45
ETH 3117.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87