Apparently I Have Been Curating Wrong - Appealing To The Masses | Comedy Open Mic Round #30

in #comedyopenmic6 years ago (edited)


I have been nominated to partake in the wonderful #ComedyOpenMic contest more times than I can count... it’s just that I am super lame and it’s taken me this long to enter (sorry guys!). But here we are, it’s finally happening.. so get your pants on @amirtheawesome1 and let’s do this thing!

All rewards (Liquid and SP) from this post will be donated to the #comedyopenmic community for the hilariousness they add to this place.

So open up your wallets gentleman and show it the love you show yourselves when self voting 😄






For those of you who don’t know me (which let’s be honest is probably most of you), I am an avid curator on this insane and time consuming daytime drama we call Steemit. I have spent the majority of my 8 months here behind the scenes, trying to do my part to get those authors that add value to the platform seen... I think it’s important to showcase our best goods, to attract new users and investors.

The problem is, I had no idea I have been doing it wrong this whole time 😱

It turns out, no one wants to see exceptional content... because well, that’s not what entertains the masses. I just learned this fact while reading this post the other day...

https://steemit.com/@taskmaster4450/time-to-make-steem-a-huge-success-by-dropping-the-focus-on-quality

I mean sure, he’s got a point.. we have to grow Steem before we can expect the content here to be important or even seen by the outside world and yes yes.. Steem isn’t just a blogging platform. I’m not a complete idiot.. I understand he makes good points. And that this is the world we live in...
44B0BFDE-23E4-40A9-81FC-0D7E18080F64.png

Then after speaking to a few other individuals that will not be named... (because the fact that they are shit content consumers themselves makes my heart ache a bit 😛). I realized it was true....

The masses don’t want exceptional content!! 🙈🙊🙉

I mean... wtf have I been doing with my life? I had this crazy idea that Steemit was suppose to be different, better than those other platforms.

Well, to apologize for my complete and utter misunderstanding of what you guys wanted..

I’ve compiled some really great content here that will definitely appeal to the masses...

🙌🏼🎉🎊👀💋🗣💃🏻🤳🏼👓💦🍺🥃🍷🍻🤬🤑💩

I heard that cats and twerking were all the rage, so why not kill two birds with one stone?


And selfies are a thing yes?


F299D238-4C38-401C-AA7B-E98ABC7B8749.jpeg

They seem to be all the rage with celebrities 🤷‍♀️

F26A96E1-2A58-464B-81F6-DC4344B7447C.jpeg

Now, I like funnies.. and people falling is hilarious..

Especially when they are attractive and falling...


Since no one is really concerned about the context of the said content.. I guess we should go back to the foundations of society....

🔥Sex Sells🔥

So, we don’t need much more than this right?


You’re welcome boys 😉

Don’t worry ladies!! I didn’t forget about you either...


I mean... what’s the point of exceptional after all? When we can be like every other platform out there...



Appeal To Which Masses?

I don’t know though... we have some pretty hilarious people on this platform, all you have to do is check the #comedyopenmic tag to find our own steemit exclusive comedians.

Want some hottie photos? Have you seen @hiddenblade ‘s art?

8D0029DB-B10C-4342-945A-ADDD96DC8A9B.jpeg

She beats Beyoncé any day of the week

In the mood for good music? We’ve got that too...

706266C2-3060-482D-8C3B-114CC289DFCD.png

Just check the #openmic tag!

Plus... I mean come on guys... We have our very own @grumpycat

BA80F6DC-3378-4AA7-AC91-273A441CDFDC.jpeg

What other platform can say that?


Sure we need to attract the crowds to grow the platform.. but let’s not lose our souls on the way there k?




This is my sad attempt at ranting with a hilarious twist.. hope you enjoyed 😄




I hereby nominate @berniesanders because I think under all his hilariousness he actually cares about this place... and I’ve seen him support that exceptional content.

And @TheMarkyMark because I stole at least 3 gifs from him in this post... and I think he’s funny 😁


Much love,

Justine

All content in this post belongs to its rightful owner that I stole it from on the internet. Shit posts don’t need sources right?

CCDB94F6-BD3D-470E-A02C-50D199DC485E.jpeg

Sort:  

Hi llfarms,

Thank you for your entry in to #comedyopenmic comedy contest. We have asked the judges below to review your entry and give it a funny rating. (They generally have no sense of humor, as the saying goes, those that can't do, start contests and judge).
This will determine your ultimate position when the results are tallied. (That being said, you are free to adopt any position you wish - we can recommend pantsless with beer in hand.)

Judges:

If you have any questions or queries please feel free to contact one of the judges or come say hi in discord: Click Here

Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

Thanks guys!

Your post much nice. Is very much i apreciate. I agree what you write in this post. Write more these post and i follow you.

Hahaha, I coughed up some salami, cheese, and crackers when I read this.

When all ideas of what to write fail, feint having a stroke.

or you the language of love you long time .... it's like french to these darn COMers

Would have read this but my pants will never be put on.

You and me both, brother :)

you two should skip starting a club, and just do it the Steem way, a pantless community

😂😂😂 fair enough...

Seriously though hilarious post, so much so I’ll fight to take part credit for pressuring you into doing it. And glad you’re on board with the idea: sex DOES sale.

Yes, the constant nominating did start to make me feel bad.. luckily I was inspired by the crap content consumers to finally get one out...

Yes yes... it always comes back the that three letter word didn’t it 😝


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

That is such a misguided article you linked. Sure, the vast majority of users on the more mainstream platforms like facebook, instagram, etc., post shite content. But the vast majority of them also don't get rewarded for posting shite content. The ones who do, typically have some degree of celebrity status, thousands of followers, etc. So sure, of course when (if) Steem becomes more mainstream, there will be even more users posting shite memes and other crap content. But to argue that they should be rewarded for that, or that because most people just want to post crap that actually talented people who post awesome creative stuff shouldn't get rewarded, is asinine. And btw every other platform out there actually goes out of its way to attract and reward actually talented people who post awesome creative stuff. In fact, it is sad to say, most of them are doing a better job at that than Steem is despite the fact that "proof of brain" and upvoting quality content is supposedly the backbone of this blockchain.

I couldn’t agree with this more. The post made me want to bang my head against a wall to be honest... instead I decided to go gif crazy 😜

Yes sadly even though uplifting that exceptional content was always discussed as one of the main goals, I feel @ned and Steemit, Inc. have failed at this aspect. Maybe it’s not too late for a change...

Thank you for the support!

this is a hilarious post...i laugh out loud more than a few times!

there could be a method to this concrete headbanging madness.......like they say there is often solum truth in jest...nevertheless i still thank the blogging gods for @curie & @comedyopenmic 😜

i say we welcome both the mass shit posters and the quality content and let the innovative ones sort it out and build solutions they can monetize like search engines

no to your specific point of rewarding disproportionate shitpost...but the fact that even if we have 50% of reward going to 90% shitpost which they have to mostly buy themselves via bots and 50% still going so-so as well as great content say 10%...then do the math if we have 10million account....i'm happy that 50% of SP goes to shit posters aka 90% of shit posters......that's their judgement, but if 50% goes to even top 10% of the rest....this might actually work

Finally, you wrote a post i consumed from top to bottom.

Now all you need to do is find a cameraperson to film you going up to ask 100 guys for sex and i'll be hooked to your feed all day :D

So we just need someone to follow you around on your tinder dates then? 🤔

haha! Don't encourage her dude! :P

She's good enough at pwning you without any encouragement.

Oh my goodness, I have never earned the mic drop before!! score... my life is now complete.

See! Paula knows!! 🤗

ouch! haha, piss off! :P

Oh relax, we tease cause we care ❤️

And you wanna see me ask....... :P

I don’t .... I really really don’t... lol

ouch!
😂 😂 😂

Hey he asked for it 😂

I am hooked to her feed all day lol

@abh12345 doesn’t enjoy my posts @yidneth.. he needs dumbed down content apparently 🙄 Or I’m just boring 😂... that really could be it.

I need more pretty ladies in my posts and he would probably read them.

Here you go Ash, you like brunettes right?

Up-voted and resteemed!

Yep! It’s just that easy...

I have never clicked so fast in my life! And I'm a gamer so you know how is that deal.
Your gif game is really good, I approve!

Hahaha thanks 😉

I couldn’t stop laughgif’n over here.

If this is shitpost, then I wouldn't mind having more of them, lele ;).
                         
Your shit is aweome, woman.      
                         

Yes this might just be the second best shit post on Steem ever! @hiddenblade is of course the champion, with the best shitpost ever :)

i'm impress by @curie's widening appeal to seek great shit to reward.... this must be due to the impressive nude, pantless leadership

its all about candy for the masses baby!

I don't know... i mean sex sells but I still have a hard time. Sure, I don't post as often as I should.... when I do it is usually an attempt at quality. My last post was filled with all sorts of sexy content.... granted, I was chastising it a bit. Maybe that us the problem? In any case. I thought you made quite a few goid points. How does one put monies into the comedy bot that you have?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95