The Time I Went to AnimeCon

in #comic-con6 years ago (edited)

This Saturday I went to AnimeCon in Cardiff.

I hadn’t originally planned for this trip but was subbed in after my sister’s friend cancelled due to being ill on the day (they needed another adult as we had three sixteen year olds with us and they needed to be supervised at all times).
Thus I donned my Deadpool shirt (not exactly anime but hey I saw some people walking about cosplaying him so I think I was okay) and off we drove for around 2 hours.


One of the sights we saw while waiting for the con to begin!

We arrived a little earlier than expected but that meant we had a nice spot in the queue and were able to observe all the different cosplays! I’m not too familiar with all the different animes that are out there at the moment so I asked my little sister who each one was and as a weeb she was able to provide the answer most of the time.
It was nice to see ones I recognised from Pokemon, Attack on Titan and even some Studio Ghibli characters so I felt a little less out of place.

While walking with my mum I even had someone exclaim and point "Deadpool!!" at my shirt and continue walking past which was slightly bizarre but quite funny.

The convention was held in a hotel, I’d been to ComicCon in both Birmingham and Cardiff so this was a lot smaller as usually they’re held in convention centers.

There was a room filled with people selling merch which I went through a few times, a room for games such as card or board games and then there some others that were showing screenings and masquerades etc.

I bought some pins from a really cute couple dressed as Kiki and Tombo from Kiki’s Delivery Service and another 3 pins from another lady. I have a problem honestly.

After dropping my younger sister and her friends off with my sister and her friends, I went with my mum to explore Cardiff!

We went to Primark and I bought a Donkey Kong shirt (£3!) and a NES jumper (£12) because I couldn’t resist! And after some food we waited for my sisters to finish their con experience in the car because my energy was pretty much gone after such an early start to the day (I’m getting too old for this).

I’ve heard nothing but nice things about the people my sisters met at the con, and while I was in there I heard so many people excitedly exclaiming about how happy they were to be there which was so endearing.
If there’s ever an Animecon/ComicCon in your area I definitely recommend it as you always meet such lovely people who are all gathered there to celebrate what they love!

Thanks for reading my post! Have any of you been to a con before?

Sort:  

Hey @mivstar! @tinygalaxy mentioned it is your birthday today. Happy, happy birthday to you! May all your dreams come true everyday :)

Congratulations @mivstar! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mivstar! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66