You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What "Batman: The Wedding" Teaches Us About Love

in #comics6 years ago

I didn’t read it but skimmed through it when it arrived in my shop. My problem with it didn’t really lie with “it@ but with DC spoiling the news days before the books release. Just kinda thought it was a shot move on their part. I’m in a few retailer groups on Facebook along with some higher ups at DC and the retailers let them have it. We still over ordered AND sold out so it didn’t affect us negatively sakes wise but still think the spoiling several days before aspect sucked.

Sort:  

I was not aware about DC spoiling its own content. That's... weird. If Disney announced an expected major event happening/not happening in The Last Jedi days before its release, that would be horrible.

Whyyyyy would DC spoil that, I feel like it would make them less $$ in sales. Sorry to hear about your over-order - @jackofcrows touched on this point I didn't consider - but glad you sold out!

I believe the reason DC went to the NYTimes (?) with the spoiler is that since the books ship ahead of release date, the information about what exactly happens in the comics would have been spoiled anyways, so they wanted to be in control of the spoiling is all.

Here is the video I seen the information from

Yeah it REALLY fucked over retailers who did store exclusive variants for their shops. Lots of retailers had customers email or call to cancel their pre orders which is a total dick move as well. These retailers spent 10-20k to have a store exclusive variant for an issue with the conclusion to a storyline that they pumped up for over a year. In my opinion a slap in the face and DC saw it too afterwards. They made the issue fully returnable to retailers if they were stuck with an over shipment.

Yeah they blasted it in I believe, The NY Times 3 days before the book was released. Bonehead move as lots of people were upset about it. I saw 0 upside to that move.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69647.99
ETH 3705.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.29