Venomous StatuessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #comics5 years ago

The other day I received 2 insanely large and heavy packages from my UPS driver. He was not very happy as it was cold and gross outside but I did not care one bit about his displeasure. Why??? Not because I’m an insensitive asshole (I am), but because he was delivering something that I’ve been waiting to display in the shop for a while now. I’m talking about the Venom Prime1 Statue distributed by Sideshow Collectibles.

imageC’mon...look at this beauty straight from Sideshow’s site.

First off, I’ll admit I’m an idiot and didn’t pay attention. That’s a phrase I find myself saying often in life, but that’s a topic for another day. Today let’s bask in this Venomous glory before us! When I say I didn’t pay attention it’s because I didn’t realize that this giant mammoth piece, arrived in 2 boxes. I just thought that we ordered 2 of them. So I had my guy James tuck one away in the back room. Which he did. He buried it under a ton of other statues which seemed like s good move. Until I started to piece it together and realized that I didn’t order 2 of these and that both boxes are for the 1 piece. Luckily James was able to uncover the 2nd box without too much of a fuss.

imageThis is one of said boxes. You can actually see James whisking the other box away in this shot.

So here we are. This is what I’m faced with. They actually wrapped each piece of this amazing behemoth in a silky smooth fabric to ensure extra safety.

image

image

Sadly one piece arrived broken in half. It’s one of the tentacle gobs of deadly goo with a set of chompers at the end. I have since contacted my rep. At Sideshow and they are actively working on a solution. I’m guessing they will just send that specific replacement piece. Seems to be the most logical way to move forward versus shipping back the entire statue. Hopefully I’ll have a solution this week.

image

image

image

Anyway, there is also a fun calendar featuring a years worth of awesome Prime1 works. Might hang this sucka up in the shop as it looks cool and we need one anyway to keep track of the days myself and my business partner split. Win!

image

image

Then there is the ever confusing cheat sheet on how to assemble this beast. Not gonna lie...this could be handled better in my opinion. With all the tiny pieces that look very similar, it just adds to the confusion. Why not color code the pegs and holes?!? They do it with my Christmas Tree...they should do it with my nerdy toys dammit!!!

imageWTF?!?

Before we start putting this puzzle together, let me tell you a bit about this specific piece. The Venom Prime1 Statue is available through Sideshow Collectibles. You can either snag it from them directly or head over to your nearest Authorized Sideshow Retailer and inquire about it with them. I prefer that route as it helps out the small local mom & pop shops like mine!!!

As I already mentioned earlier, this statue ships in 2 boxes which weigh close to 40 lbs. a piece. The statue is based on the Venom we see in the Dark Origins mini series. It stands around 33” high and around 27” wide meaning you need some room to display this badboy. A lot of room to be honest. It’s limited to 1500 pieces and as you can see here on the bottom of the base, I got number 121/1500.

image

Ok...let’s starts piecing this son of a bitch together. Shall we?!? Obviously starting with the base, I placed Venom’s body into the proper slots. Then the head and a few of the random pieces that also fit into the base such as the bent pipe. Let’s watch it come together...

image

image

image

image

image

Okay...with so many pieces I’m not going to bore you with the construction of it. So let’s just take a look at how it displays once all together. Keep in mind the one damaged piece is on the right side of his body, or it’ll end up looking slightly different once I get that replacement piece.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

This is the broken piece and how it would look if attached. Can’t wait to get it all taken care of.

image

image

image

I had to do some statue maneuvering on our cases. I relocated several fairly large pieces to accommodate the room necessary for this big bastard. No lie...my arms were tired carrying it super carefully from the area I assembled it in all the way to the statue cases. I was so nervous carrying it but it made it safe and sound. I currently have it on top of my IKEA Detolf cases next to the Catwoman Premium Format Statue which is also from Sideshow.

image

image

It’s only been up for several days so far and we’ve already had a ton of people compliment and inquire about it. The major downside is the price. Retail price runs $899.99 plus shipping...sooooo get your credit card ready!!! It’s definitely a conversation piece. It’s huge, sleek and sexy, and will be the crown jewel in most collections. It dwarfs the 1/4 Scale pieces that surround it and while it is expensive per say...it’s worth every penny. Venom is one of the most popular comic book characters ever created. Rare collectibles such as this will always have a market.

If interested in snagging one of these for yourself, head to https://www.sideshow.com/collectibles/marvel-venom-sideshow-collectibles-300553 to place your order. Oooooorrrrrrrr you can find your local Sideshow Authorized Retailer and have them order it for you!!! https://www.sideshow.com/store-locator/

Thanks for taking a tour of this gem with me.

Blewitt

Sort:  

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

You are my favorite

Great shot from the side and wow what a big piece but unfortunately just the way it's done I can see many having the same problem as your's arriving with broken pieces and them just breaking as easily @blewitt

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello @blewitt, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Howdy sir blewitt! wow what a beast! Is that the largerst statue they've ever made or you've ever sold? It looks like great quality.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blewitt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

That is really quite the piece of casting work! I can just imagine the work that went into the molds for all the parts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97