Sort:  

I hate coloring so dang much. I'm patiently waiting for the day I have enough money to hire a colorist so I never have to color my artwork ever again.

That has absolutely been an option on my mind...

I honestly find every part of the process arduous enough that coloring isn't really different in that regard. I'm just not sure I can hit the quality level I want, but we'll see!

I never knew this was such a common part of the process artists didn't like until recently. I thought they had separate colorists due to time restrictions. I do understand having to just put something down eventually and be done with it though, before you get frustrated or tweak it too much. I've no real atistic talent but I've done enough crafty things to know you have to just stop and walk away, even if only for a break. Btw, the piece looks great!

That is definitely the most common way it’s done in large (and better funded!) studios & companies. In the independent scene it’s often a one or two person show instead.
I tend to prefer comics that are single creator driven, there’s something to be said for that sort of unified vision. I don’t know if I can personally pull it off though! I may tap out and look to do some hiring. I’m fortunate enough in Steem right now that financing a bit of payroll could be attainable.
And thanks! Glad you’re digging it!

No way! You are too good, put that tool in your toolbox.

I think you are nailing the colour! Love it.

It's nice to see your work with color, it looks great ... always seeing your work without color makes this time look better all painted. ;)

I do not complain about seeing this work always, I like it. 💕💕💕

@bryan-imhoff what is this project you are doing? Mind telling me a bit about it?

Oh sure! It’s a comic I’ve had kicking around in my brain for a number of years now. I’m trying to get back into the flow of producing comics and hope to have a first issue largely completed (at least pencils & inks) by years end.

The basic premise is that the sun is magical! The Earth is struck by a massive solar flare more powerful than even the Carrington Event of 1859. The surge of solar/magical energies cripples modern technology and reawakens sorcery & hordes of magical creatures on our world.

So it’s a post apocalyptic fantasy horror comedy. Kinda like Shaun of the Dead crossed with Lord of the Rings...🤔

In most every issue someone will find themselves looking in disbelief at the insanely bizarre apocalyptic world they find themselves in and mutter... “I Thought It Would Be Zombies...”

Dude...this sounds fantastic! If you get this going and self published, we will totally carry it in our shop. I know that does not help much but I will commit to that! I could probably get a few other retailers to do the same.

Thanks so much for the feedback & the offer, it really does mean a lot! Half of the motivation is knowing the end goal is attainable. Knowing I have enough Steem in the bank to finance a couple legit print runs and already have an awesome shop with some shelf space for me really puts some wind in my sails!
(Now I gotta quit reading Steem posts & go draw!!)

Get to it deadbeat!!!! Lol

That's great! With the color is giving a different course lol a question, the dog is also zombie?

Thanks! No, happily the dog is not a zombie! Neither are any of the main characters. The basic premise is actually that the world is engulfed by a massive magical solar flare which destroys modern technology and reawakens magic and magical creatures into the world. Some may be quite zombie-like, but the title "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." refers to how almost every issue you'll find someone muttering that phrase as they realize that the apocalypse unfolding is not at all the end of the world they had come to expect from all the zombie stories we're surrounded by today! It is much more bizarre and... magical!

My only real 2 cents is make the sky darker so the eye focuses on the foreground more. Overall I think its on its way. I tend to just start with simply filling in colors then keep on adding techniques etc over time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86