You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thought Bubble Thursdays #17 - Up, Up and, well... Away

in #comics6 years ago

DC fucked everything and Marvel took the lead. I hope they understand this, it's so clear, they can check the reviews of the critics, the reviews of the fans, the profit they make etc etc

What i want to say and comment the most though is Superman (Henry) as Geralt. I bet the whole series will fail. It's just a hunch but we have hits as to why.

First of all, Geralt looks older and his face is more furious, angry, badass while the Henry looks like the good kid that every mother will love. Especially after his role in superman i don't think anyone can even imagine him as Geralt. At a point it's not only the acting, he can be the best actor it's the face. He simply doesn't look like him at all and i think even with the make up the result will be the same.

Finally, another reason the series will probably fail is Ciri being played by a black actor. In the political correctness era that say it all i think!

Sort:  

I agree, DC really screwed the pooch, dropped the ball and all manner of metaphors! They had such a golden opportunity too!

When the project was announced, I had pegged Mads Mikkelsen for the part, but I guess Cavill was cast for the physicality. Let's reserve judgment until it airs. I do have reservations about him taking on the role, but I like his enthusiasm heading in. Maybe they'll do a younger version of Geralt? I'm not that familiar with the story, so I have no expectations whatsoever.

I've read somewhere that they're reconsidering their casting decision and opting for a white actress instead. Fingers crossed that fans would win out over political correctness. That's been really getting way out of hand for the past few years. I hope the studios learn from past mistakes.

Mads Mikkelsen hehehe i believed he would be the one too!

i really can't understand that political correctness in movies and series. Whenever they enforce that tactic the outcome is the same, bad reviews and less money.

They're trying to appease a somewhat niche market. Since they have resources they can afford to waste I guess it's fine with them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84