You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The many faces of Thor: God of Thunder

in #comics6 years ago

I can't say that I've been a big Marvel Thor fan over the years, but I'm not sure if that's due to him being overpowered, or a lack of connection. I think it's probably the whole concept of him being considered a god when he really isn't. I think that's one of the reasons I've liked the MCU Thor more. They kind of played that aspect down, which is perfectly fine. He's Asgardian, so he lives longer and is very durable, and for some reason, he happens to be a powered Asgardian, since it's obvious from Thor: Ragnarok that many Asgardians are not powered, let alone as durable. It must be the royal bloodline. :)

Still, I'm probably in the minority where I like heroes that can make the right choices and win the day. I don't need to see them fail, or be outmatched for a while before they figure it out. As a storyteller, though, you need conflict. You need disappointments of some kind. So, I get and understand all of that.

Sort:  

Yeah the portrayal of him in the MCU is great because they humanized him and added some humor. He is not funny in the comics and often times overbearing thus why I liked it in the story lines that made him vulnerabl, almost human-like.

They may have gone too far in Ragnarok for my tastes. Avengers: Infinity War I think was a better balance throughout. There were times where it was just a little forced, and Thor has been funny prior to this, but in a Thor-like way. That's what made it funny. I don't think he needs to become so human that you don't get the Asgard difference.

He can be hurt. He can feel loss and pain. He can be thwarted. He can lose. His total lack of words at the end after basically having the chance to defeat Thanos and failing is something I hope they build on, that it just wasn't secondary. He couldn't answer when he was asked what happened, and he wasn't even in the foreground when Captain America realizes what's happened.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63822.89
ETH 3083.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99