You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thought Bubble Thursdays #17 - Up, Up and, well... Away

in #comics6 years ago

Well I've always wondered DC use to be a powerhouse when it comes to their movies but I think the thing is they've been making a whole lot of mistakes, it even seems like the A.B C could extend to Z I don't know but something is really happening with the administration really and they're heading for closure in my opinion, I guess thy know what's best

Sort:  

I think they knew what was best up until they got too complacent and thought that last success would translate to everlasting recognition. That's one thing history taught us: great empires always fall. In this case, it's their own negligence that opened up the cracks. It's not too late though, and they can right the ship if they choose to be methodical and think through how they can recuperate. I really do hope they remain competitive.

But if I were to ask you, what are the things you think they need to do or the steps they need to take to get back to the limelight?

That's actually a really great question to ask. I've written about my thoughts in several past TBTs, but I'll try to outline some points for you here. First of all, they need to establish a committee to form a coherent plot. Each films could have their own tone, but they should all be cohesive. Secondly, they should just stop competing with Marvel because they are too far ahead, and staying competitive is what led to the disaster that is the DCEU. If they want to continue the multiverse route, they should be consistent with it, instead of just patching things up. Stop with the political correctness and try to do some fan service to win people back. Lastly, focus on legacy so that there's continuity. Bonus points if they can incorporate their TV properties in their massive crossover.

Yeah I think they should stop the competition and get creative too because originality matters a whole lot and they've lost it when it comes to originality as well.
Marvel is quite on another league of their own and they were blistering before they attained this height

Believe it or not, DC has been eating Marvel alive in terms of top comics sales. The thing with the MCU is that it was built methodically, piece-by-piece. Their whole shared universe approach was unprecedented, and they weren't in a rush to build their world. Now that the other studios see it as a viable option, they try to emulate what worked, or try to flip the script. That's where things go south.

It's not that competitiion should be stopped, I mean, I'm a big proponent of non-competitiveness, but this is one instance where I feel competition could be good, especially in terms of preserving quality and continuous improvement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84