Deathly Afraid of Bridges // Drawn To Key West

in #comics6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-07-09 at 9.43.09 PM.png

We all have irrational fears but in my defense, I think that one of my biggest "irrational" fears is pretty reasonable.

Bridges. Specifically bridges that go over bodies of water. In my professional opinion, I think this stems from my other fear, that of drowning. I feel like that is one of the worst ways to go. I imagine it to be very painful and something you're very aware of while it's all happening. I can't help but think of all the ways the car I'm in (because you'll for sure never catch me driving over the bridge myself) will plunge off the sides, condemning me to that terrible fate. How would I escape the sinking car? What if my seatbelt gets stuck like it always does in the movies? How do I make sure everyone else in the car escapes as well. Once I escape, would I even have enough breath left to make it to the surface?

I guess the irrational part is the fact that I can't stop obsessing over these thoughts every time I find myself in a car on a bridge.

It's an unavoidable part of my life, however. I love on an island, for one thing. And in order to get to one of my favorite places on earth by car, I have to drive over 42 bridges.

The drive to Key West is supposedly very beautiful and scenic but for the most part, I get through this car ride by either sleeping, playing my DS, or listening to music while my parents conquer the drive. It's been a good strategy for me so far. Maybe one day I'll be able to appreciate the ride down.

Roughs

Page_4.jpg

Inks

Page_4.jpg


In case you missed my other posts on my project about Key West, you can find them here:

Interview With A Street Performer
Map of Mallory Square
Map of Mallory Square Finished
People of Key West
People of Key West Finished

My Ending Question


What is one of your biggest fears? How do you try to overcome it?

End_Card.png



If you'd like to keep up with more of my work you can check me out at the following:

Instagram: @la.fumettista
Tumblr: http://la-fumettista.tumblr.com/tagged/art
Twitter: @TheresaChiechi
Website: https://www.theresachiechi.com/

Sort:  

You love on an island? That must be pretty interesting XD.
Ugh 42 bridges are too much, though I have nothing against bridges, maybe because I rarely have to pass through them.

I like this illustration, I can imagine a new chapter of a comic book would start with this image. It tells me the beginning of an adventure ^_^.

-upvoted-

Yeah, it's not as exciting as it sounds. It's like a 40 minute car ride to the rest of New York XD 42 bridges is 41 bridges too many. One of them is 7 miles long (which isn't even the longest bridge I've had to cross...)

Thanks for reading!

We all have some irrational fears, but maybe by acknowledging your fears you'll be able to overcome it in the future :D!

One can hope lol XD My dad always tries to get me to drive, but I'm not quite there yet.

hehe I'm sure at some point you'll get the confidence and enjoyment of driving around :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

oh so cool illustration <3

Congratulations @la-fumettista! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Croatia vs England


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @la-fumettista, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95