Webcomics Round-up for Dec. 23rd, 2017

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail


This week Steemit had many interesting original webcomics. It's exciting what the community has produced even though everyone has been busy with the holidays. I apologize that I haven't posted any of my own. Don't worry, I have some good ideas.

I also discovered the #webtoon tag this week. Most of the entries are in Korean and also use the #kr-webtoon tag. I wish I could read Korean. For example, I see numbers in this one and my best guess is that it's about the cryptocurrency boom and crash this week. Can anyone translate it for me?

Interesting Webcomics This Week

These are interesting original webcomics that I saw this week. It's not an exhaustive list of every webcomic on Steemit. For example, I overlook comics that are not safe for work (NSFW) or not in English. (Hint to entrepreneurial Steemians: Post about the webcomics that I overlook.) I'm considering asking posters if I can use part of their webcomic images. I think they'd get more views that way.

Introductions This Week

Here are some webcomics creators who made introduction posts this week. Please click on the hyperlinks and make them feel welcome. Also, let them know that you're a fellow webcomic creator or reader.

abgmie
abgmie

ashidoodle
ashidoodle

cryptocomic
cryptocomic

About Me

Electric eel
Introduction photo

Check out my introduction post to learn more about me.

Sort:  

Thanks for collecting all these updates in one easy to find place. Hey, I'm still really new to Steemit. Which tag would you say is the best category for posting webcomics?

Thanks for the shoutout @minnowforlife!
I absolutely agree with your tagging advice. I think I’ve found the trifecta of #comics #webcomics and #steem-cartoon to give the best coverage. I tend to make the 4th tag a genre tag, and the 5th a specific tag for the particular comic project to make it searchable & groupable.

The best way to gain exposure and followers is good commenting and discussion. It’s also great to take some time to participate in related competitions and contests. #trialbycomics by @kommienezuspadt is a top recommendation.

@steem-comic-con isn’t dead yet, just very slow due to my time management! I’m working on defining my routine & rules with the project to make sure it’s supportive yet not spammy. Currently I’ve just started doing more resteeming from the account and I do use it’s voting power every day supporting comics & related content. You can check out the skeleton of a dedicated site at www.steemcomicconvention.com which also has a tab directing to the custom ChainBB forum hosted on Steem as well.

Good luck @sidekickmatt, just followed you and I’ll be keeping an eye out for more work!

I havent tried the #webcomics tag yet. I'll give that a go next week. The Steem-comic-con website looks great.

I think the #webcomic tag is perfect for your main tag. That seems to be the place for serial action/adventure webcomics like yours.

Since you're posting original webcomics, you should also consider the #comics and #steem-cartoon tags. They're very popular and active. If you have any questions about the #steem-cartoon tag, ask the co-founders @perennial and @sireh. They're very friendly and helpful.

At one point, @bryan-imhoff created a project called Steem Comic Convention, #steemcomiccon, to promote comics like yours. It looks like it's inactive but Mr. Imhoff has been around longer than I have and might have better advice for promoting your style of comic on Steemit. I'd introduce myself on this thread:
https://steemit.com/steemcomiccon/@steem-comic-con/introduce-yourself-to-the-steem-comic-convention

If you include your drawing process in a post (sketches, inking, coloring, etc.), you could probably get attention using the #art and #drawing tags.

Check out the comments in this post by @jackpurcell38 for more advice.
https://steemit.com/batman/@jackpurcell38/what-is-the-most-interesting-aspect-to-see

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70958.91
ETH 3798.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46