My 11 Favorite Comic Book Covers for January 2019

in #comics5 years ago (edited)


Image Source

I know they aren't quite the same as Max Ernst original prints, but I love my comic book art. I especially love the creativity that goes into some of the cover art for these items. Going forward, I plan to share my favorite 11 covers each month that I manage to pick up at my LCS. With that said, let's get to sharing!

11. Alex Ross - Incredible Hulk 11

IMG_20190209_155445.jpg

There is so much going on in this one. Upside down mountains, infernos of tortured souls, and even Virgil standing and watching in the background. This story has been amazing, and Ross's cover art has been equally amazing. It's frightening, yet somewhat oddly fantastic.

10. Jock - The Batman Who Laughs 2

IMG_20190209_185324 (1).jpg

Such a great use of colors on this one. There's the Joker's toxic gas in the background, the insane Grim Knight, and the even more insane Batman Who Laughs, This one is scary yet magnificent...it reminds of a water coloring depicting a subtle scene.

9. Bengal - Spider Gwen 4

IMG_20190209_144800 (1).jpg

This one is very interesting; Bengal's artwork captures the somber Spider-Gwen as she looks upon the graves of her fallen spiders beneath Luna. Luna always seems to be around death; I wonder if there is some type of collective unconscious connection we have with Luna and death that we can't quite comprehend. I guess we'll find out someday!

8. Josh Middleton - Martian Manhunter 2

IMG_20190209_150744 (1).jpg

Another great cover fro Middleton that has a lot of color, detail, and action. The series isn't bad either. I love the versatility of Middleton's work.

7. Jae Lee - The Flash 62

IMG_20190209_185333 (1).jpg

This one is gorgeous. My only complaint is there are no other speedsters in the scene. That's ok though, as Mirror Master is around. This one is most vibrant and positive, much like Barry Allen. Another cool one that could get slabbed, I think.

6. Frank Miller - Batman 62

IMG_20190209_185303.jpg

I always love Miller's Batman, and this one is quite subtle. I had to pick up two copies; I might get them both slabbed and send one to my brother in California. It's a classic Dark Knight piece of art. I think Miller also has a Detective Comics 1000 variants on the way too that'll grab.

5. Artgerm - Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man

IMG_20190209_155257.jpg

What a great looking Spider Man. Since getting back into this hobby, Artgerm has quickly become one of my favorites.

4. Artgerm - Batgirl 31

IMG_20190209_122344.jpg

Another Artgerm, and another Batgirl. I was sad to see Middleton go, but Artgerm has kept the streak alive for me. I believe Putri is doing a Batgirl soon too, so that would be one to keep an eye on.

3. Karmone Shirahama - Wonder Woman 63

IMG_20190209_151006.jpg

This one sold out immediately when it was released. The style is so simple and effective. The concrete blowing up is a nice touch. These Wonder Woman variants have been amazing, and I'm looking forward to next week's Artgerm cover.

2. Ben Oliver - Catwoman 7

IMG_20190209_150806.jpg

I really love this cover. The subtle use of purple and pink hues make this Catwoman so wonderful. The Batarang is a nice detail too. Resale values show that other collectors still love this issue too. I still am amazed at the amount of beautiful DC variants each week. My wallet hates it, but my eyes adore them. Thanks DC.

1. Julian Tedesco - Harley Quinn 57

IMG_20190209_150758.jpg

Wow, I love this cover. As I mentioned previously, I'm slowing becoming a Harley fan as my young daughter loves the character in her Girl Power / Super Friends book. I've decided to start grabbing a few key issues with her, and I think this one will be a good one for her long term. And this one is still getting good sales dollars on eBay. It's not quite Batgirl 23 but it's not bad.

That's it for this one. Please let me know what you think, or have other covers you think were solid this past month. Thanks as always for taking a read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98