Speculating on Comic Books for 06.05.2019

in #comics5 years ago


Image Source

Well, last week was a blur. I went to the Twin Cities area for two Milwaukee Brewer vs. Minnesota Twin baseball games, and let’s just say the Surly Furious IPA was flowing. Plus we took a bus there and back, so I’m going to call that a big case of “double trouble” for me. Needless to say, I didn’t get to comic books last week…but don’t worry, I persevered and I am back for another week.

The big miss for me last week was apparently Batman Last Knight on Earth; because I was indisposed, I missed that at my LCS this past weekend as it was sold out. My guess is that with it being another DC Black Label release, there was a thought there’d be something very controversial. So it’s eBay time for me on that one.

So without further ado, let’s get back to it and look at this week’s publications.

Picks for Flips

War of the Realms New Agents of Atlas 3 Wu Variant


Image Source

This one is an easy one to get if you can find it cheap; sales are already in the $40-45 USD range. I have no idea what the series is about; if I could find it, I’d flip it, but I won’t, but I hope you do!

Ignited 1 Both Covers


Image Source


Image Source

Sales are limited, but sets are going for the $10-15 USD range. There might be additional demand after tomorrow morning…might be a nice gamble if you can find them for cover price.

Items for My Long Term Collection

Batman 72 Finch and Golden Covers


Image Source


Image Source

So Tom King is getting the boot off of Batman prior to him getting to issue 100? Yet he’s now involved with upcoming Jack Kirby New Gods motion picture script? I’m confused; I haven’t read his Mister Miracle yet, but like everything else, reviews are bipolar with his stuff. I’m guessing Batman 72 will have the same response from the fans…whatever, it’s Batman. I’m in.

DCeased 2 Putri Variant


Image Source

Another issue with last week was I intended to read DCeased 1, but like everything else in my life, that went awry thanks to that damn bus trip. I really like this cover however, and I love Yasmine Putri’s stuff, so I’m grabbing this issue.

Green Lantern 8 Sharp Cover A


Image Source

Morrison’s Green Lantern, in my honest opinion, continues to be one of the better reads that I continuously look forward to every month. This cover features a throwback to those glory days of DC, and I think the team up with Green Arrow will be great. Can’t wait, Mr. Morrison, can’t wait!

Army of Darkness Bubba Ho-Tep 4 Hack Variant


Image Source

I love Hack’s work on this series, and it’s Bruce Campbell at his best. Love it, love it, love it…and Bruce, if you read this, I still read your *If Chins Could Kill : Confessions of B Movie Actor” all the time. Also, we enjoy your son’s work on Hallmark (if anyone else reading this is wondering why I am watching Hallmark movies, it’s because I’m married…that’s why).

Black Cat 1 Artgerm Variant


Image Source

What a gorgeous cover! I’d opt for the virgin Arterm variant, but that one is out of my price reach at this point. The story is hopefully interesting too. Black Cat was always a favorite Spider Man character of mine when I was younger.

Blood Realm 2


Image Source

I’m still digging this story and the artwork. It’s a low attention gem, in my opinion, and could definitely see it getting picked up on some streaming service in the future. That would drive up its value, of course, but I’m just enjoying the story.

Descendent 2


Image Source

Still haven’t gotten to issue 1, but I’m going to keep getting these in case it turns out to be a solid conspiratorial story. In case you haven’t noticed, I do like my conspiracies.

Other Items of Interest

Deadpool 13 Granov Variant


Image Source

I occasionally get a Deadpool here and there if the story seems good; he’s not my favorite character of all time, but he’s entertaining. This cover, on the other, is beautiful. What a throw back/retro piece…maybe I’ll buy it…I’m not sure just yet.

Harley Quinn 58 Cover A


Image Source

I'm not sure what is going on with this issue; it sold out online, but sales one eBay are in line with cover prices...I might snag this one tomorrow. I'd get the Frank Cho cover as usual, but I'm burned out on Games of Thrones and dragons. Those last few episodes; I can't say I'm a fan. It's almost like the writers got super lazy, were checked out, or drank too much Surly Furious too. So that dragon isn't doing it for me this time around.

That’s it for this week for me; let me know what I missed or should check out. Thanks as always for taking a read.

Sort:  

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!!

well thanks so much, as always!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99