Speculating on Comics for 02.13.2019

in #comics5 years ago


Image Source

Last week went so so for me; I was able to get both cover A and B of Harley Quinn 58, but that was about it. No other pickups managed to be the CBSI top ten list for the week. And from what I've seen online, Mattina's Female Furies 1 variant seems to be selling for close to cover price. I'm curious if the collecting world of comics has grown tired of Mattina? Or if this only a temporary blimp. Time will tell, as always.

This week I went heavy on a couple of independent titles I'm excited to read about. I have them listed as "picks for flips" for others as there is a strong, short term profit potential with these titles, but I'll be keeping my copies. With that said, let's review....

Picks for Flips

Exciting Comics 1 Cover A


Image Source

I'm actually looking forward to this series. It existed in the 1940's, and from I recall hearing on YouTube, only ran 69 issues in length. It appears to be a combination of public domain super hero characters mixed with brand new super heroes. I hope it doesn't disappoint. I'm keeping my issue, but it looks like cover A sold for $30 USD on eBay over the weekend. The cover price is $1.99; that's insane. Yet if you see it this Wednesday, grab it. The story might even be good!


Image Source

The Devils 1


Image Source

Another one going for +$20 USD on eBay; this one looks very interesting. The story is apparently based on true life events experienced by Japanese soldiers in WWII. I smell a TV show coming. I managed to get one at cover price online last week, and will keep my copy. Yet if you run across it Wednesday as well, maybe take a chance and pick one up.

God of Bad Men 1


Image Source

I really wanted to get this one. From the description online, the story's protagonist (I think protagonist) has an inoperable brain tumor. That tumor allegedly contains the origin of God. Call me VERY interested in reading this one. My LCS won't have it, but maybe yours will. This too is going for over $20 USD online right now, but I'm not pulling the secret credit card trigger on that price right now. Hopefully I will be able to get a copy once the initial price spike recedes. If you find and read it, please share your thoughts with us on the origin of God!

Items for My Long Term Collection

Batman Who Laughs 3 Both Covers


Image Source

Federici returns! After knocking out some fantastic Wonder Woman and Justice League Dark covers last year, I think this is his first cover price issue this year. Grab it if you can. Something tells me the Batman Who Laughs is going to be around the DC Universe for a very long time. Honestly, all of the Dark Knights from Metal are probably worth investing in for the long haul.


Image Source

Detective Comics 998 - Both Covers


Image Source


Image Source

Getting so close to #1000. The Arkham Knight has yet to make an appearance, the story is solid, and now it looks like Kirby's Etrigan is showing up. These are easy pick ups, and the Bat will always hold value.

Justice League Dark 8 Jones Variant


Image Source

I'll probably grab cover A too as I love Doctor Fate. This series has been excellent, in my personal opinion. The Otherkind continue to manifest, and I'm trying to wrap my head around their existence in the DC Universe. Do Snyder and company have some larger plan to roll the JLD in with other current going ons? What would happen if the Batman Who Laughs were required to defeat the Otherkind? Things I ponder about while doing data entry at work...

Wonder Woman 64 Artgerm Variant


Image Source

Artgerm is everywhere; Spider-Man, Batgirl, Wonder Woman...where next? I'm personally hoping to see another slick Spider-Gwen cover soon, but we'll see. Plus his upcoming DC 1000 variant is amazing. Personally, I'm hoping to get a copy of that through eBay without having to spend a fortune.


Image Source

Other Items of Interest

Goddess Mode 3


Image Source

More Gnostic/Archon/Hermes good stuff with the simulation hypothesis thrown in. And it's all controlled by some type of AI. Sounds like something responsible for all that Mandela effect stuff we keep hearing about; Ed McMahon anyone?

Avengers No Road Home 1 - Putri Cover


Image Source

I see Al Ewing is writing this one, and it involves the idea of "bringing back the light." Does that imply illumination? Some type of Masonic enlightenment? Solar Worship? Or just your good old classic "light vs. dark." I'm on the fence with this as it is $4.99, but I might give it a go.


Image Source

Dream On

This is a new part; these are comics I won't get because they are too costly from the get go, but would love to own down the road. Really, it's a shout out to the art that these cover artists put together.


Image Source

What a great Adam Hughes cover. This sold out quickly online for $62.50 USD. Maybe if my Litecoin gets above $100 USD again I'll try to get on eBay. That might be a very big if, however.

That's it for this week. Good luck everyone. Grab those indies if you see them, and flip them if so inclined. Good luck!

Sort:  

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

hey thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93