Marvel Legends Black Suit Spiderman

in #comics6 years ago

spidermanblack.png
In my never ending search for cool Marvel Legends, I came across this bad boy after visiting 5 Walgreens drugstores in 1 day. I have come across him several times before, but passed in hopes of finding Cable. It came with two "fists" for the Sandman build-a-figure that I will probably trade away for something else.

Spiderman has always been a fan favorite because he is so relate-able and quippy. To be honest he was Deadpool before Deadpool was Deadpool. There are two things about Spiderman that I personally loved, that set him apart from the rest in my opinion.

1. His suits

Spiderman has so many cool variants to his suit. Whether it is an alternate universe suit, people who aren't Peter, or different powered suits... there was something about the variety of Spiderman that I loved. When playing the Spiderman game released in 2000 (which is a freaking amazing game) I was sooo pumped to try all the suits... which you can unlock by entering EEL NATS as a cheatcode btw.

One of my favorite suits by far is this black suit because it is the color of my soul but did you know that this isn't really a suit at all? It is actually the first appearance of a symbiote (yes, before venom) AND it was a fan submitted idea! How cool would it be to write Marvel, and have your idea spawn debatably the coolest spiderman villain... which brings us to our next point...

2. He has the coolest villains

For a single superhero (this excludes the X-men) in the Marvel universe (this excludes Batman) Spiderman by far has the coolest, well rounded, badass villains. He has Venom, Carnage, Doc Ock, Lizard, Rhino, Green Goblin, and the list keeps going... I personally think that a good villain makes a superhero better, and this is a huge reason that spiderman has always been so well received, and has freaking 6 movies even though most were booty trash.

20180514_200459.jpg

He really is such a fun character to pose and play with. His articulation is great and had two sets of hands which is perfect. I learned from a friend that he doesn't have "thwipping" hands because symbiotes (at least this suit) shoot web from their fist. For now I used some putty type material to give him some classic spidey on the wall poses, but I am going to drill a bit more out of his feet and glue small earth magnets in so he can walk up walls (metal ones atleast)

Like I said before... Spidey was the OG Marvel universe goofball. I had to have him trolling some of my other figures, and since I had Deadpool take Deathlok's gun last time... I figured I'd do it again. I mean it IS a sweet ass gun.


He joined my hero side for the time being... with some of the toys from @erodedthoughts in the background. I am going to be changing up my entire action figure set up soon to accommodate my rapidly growing obsession collection.

Sort:  

Pretty cool collection. I have a buddy that frequents every retail store that has figures in stock and seeks the collectors items. Only, he does so for his business on eBay. I'm trying to convince him to use Syscoin and it's marketplace. Only it's falling on deaf ears.
Anyways, I've never been big on Spidey but you make great points and have grown an appreciation now.

Lol your buddy is a scalper!! My sworn nemesis in finding figures haha

We have a guy that comes into the shop that refuses to pay more than big box store retail on any figure. He will search for weeks on end, several days a week to save 10-15 beans. I tell him that he's had to spend over a hundred bucks in gas let alone the time but he says it's for the thrill of the hunt. I used to have that back when I collected hard core. Once I opened the shop, that kinda went away. lol. I might try to snap some pics of some of the loose figs we have at the shop. I'll also keep my eye open for that Cable for ya.

@blewitt When you had mentioned being at some Cons, I didn't realize you're a vendor for your store there? I was thinking Artist Alley for some reason.

Yo. I absolutely am interested in seeing what loose legends you have. Even broken figures/accessories/diorama stuff. I live the thrill of the hunt too, but if I really want something I'll absolutely pay a bit more than big box prices. Im ok with buying from a comic shop or specialty store. Just not Ebay... Since they are probably why I can't find it in the first place lol.

LOl I hear ya. I’ll see if I can snap some pics.

@saywha Dude! I just saw your post on Busy. The struggle is real, lol. I hadn't been on there too much. Pretty good support there. I think I'll spend more time on Crypto Collectibles.

To be honest he was Deadpool before Deadpool was Deadpool.

You know, I'd never really picked up on this, but it makes sense now that you say it, even knowing what little I do about comics still.... I did watch the Deadpool movie and there was some familiarity to the character I couldn't quite put my finger on. You're totally right. Looking back, all the times I've seen things with Spiderman in them, he's always making some kind of joke about everything or being goofy somehow... just like Deadpool.

You got a 100.00% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @saywha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97