TOTORO ROAR fan art

in #comics6 years ago

Recently I got to check another movie off of my long list of movies I haven't seen but totally should have by now. Studio Ghibli has always been one of those production studios that I've admired and love their artwork and story telling. Sadly, I hadn't really seen many of their movies as I can never seem to find them for reasonable prices.

Luckily, my friend has the Studio Ghibli collection and I have been making my way through them. The ones suitable for children have been easiest to watch, and of course we had to start with Totoro. I had heard so much about it, know the character, but still hadn't seen it. So a few weeks ago my boys and I sat down to watch it. Needless to say it was a hit with all of us... my boys were playing the next day with a wagon calling it the "catbus". It was definitely a win to get them to like a new movie/show that I like as well.

Favorite part of the movie you ask?

EASY, every time Totoro ROARED my boys belly laughed, I chuckled... We all followed suit with our OWN ROARS and couldn't wait for him to do it again

totoro.jpg

Since it was definitely my favorite part of the movie, and key to his character I decided to do some fan art since...

A) I haven't drawn in FOREVER
B) I miss using my surface for what I bought it for
C) Fan art is pure fun

It took me about a week of working on it off and on. With how hectic life has been recently. I count that a win!

I didn't do any process shots, so here are my layers!

I thought that may be fun, since as an artist I always want to know the process/layering of how other artists work... let me know if it is interesting to see the layers this way, or if you like process better?

Screenshot (1).png

Screenshot (2).png

Screenshot (3).png

Screenshot (4).png

I didn't do it layer by layer at all. I typically am working back and forth between layers frantically switching/redoing/erasing/painting. The last layer I drew was actually the lowest layer with all the scribbles, it was to add a bit of chaos to the blank space from his ROAR. Typically I have a background, color, shading, and line work. Sometimes I will have multiples of each, but those are the 4 basic layers I just about always use.

monsterfooter_LI.jpg

Sort:  

So watching this because Spirited Away was the best thing I have ever watched! Monsters are back? :D

Good ol' Totoro! Nice movie.

Totoro was the first ghibli movie I've ever seen and it was my favourite thing ever when I was a kid. The bus stop in the rain scene is my absolute favourite! Hopefully you watched the original version and not the abomination Disney fail. Lol.

Lol didn't know there was an abomination version. It was definitely the original

Love Studio Ghibli! Highly recommend Spirited Away if you haven't seen it...You have to be able to enjoy weird stuff, though.

Watched that in high school in Japanese class. We had the coolest teacher ever lol. I looove it

That is cool man. I haven't checked out the movie but I want to now, just to hear the roar :D

Cool drawing, anything for "Spirited Away" fans now :D?

Yeah. You gotta scroll back a bunch though lol. Like... Months and months back

turtle approves!!!

You got a 29.26% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @saywha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94