You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Take Off My Glasses When I Read Comics Now... (A Brief Reflection on 30 Years)

in #comics6 years ago

Nostalgia and comics definitely go together.

One day in the not too distant future I’m going to have to go back and re-read the old Transformers Marvel series from 1-80. It’s been eons since I’ve done that. I can still remember the first comic I ever really read was Transformers #14. I saw it in a 7-Eleven and begged my Dad to buy it for me. I still have that issue. Bob Budiansky came to the Edmonton Expo where I live here and he signed that issue for me. I told him the story of how that was the first comic I ever read. He seemed to like that!

Sort:  

It's been on my "to do" list for a while now to go back and do some massive re-reads! So awesome that you got to have that connection with Budiansky around your intro to comics! After writing this article last night, I went down the "online rabbit hole" on Bret Blevins, who did that first New Mutants issue I read and whose work I've enjoyed ever since. He was never very active online, his site was stagnant and social media almost non existent... but coincidentally in the past couple weeks it's all come alive and he's launched a KickStarter for an online instruction course he's teaching. I'll be pledging for sure and probably writing a dedicated post or two about it. So glad I might have the chance to connect with such a childhood inspiration.

There are a lot of really good local comic writers here in Edmonton. I’ve always have been a bit of a writer, but marriage, life, and my son get in the way.... of love to write a comic one day. It’s easy to self-publish these days!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62934.82
ETH 3119.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86