International Women's Day 2019 #BalanceforBetter

in #comics5 years ago

International Women's Day is a global day celebrating the social, economic, cultural and political achievements of women - while also marking a call to action for accelerating gender balance.

I found the theme to this year's International Women's Day compelling, especially in the comic book industry. I've read the negative comments about the Captain Marvel film opening up in theaters today and am sickened by the toxicity of this fandom.

CAPMARV2019001_DC71_large.jpg
Sanctum Sanctorum Comics & Oddities Captain Marvel #1 cover by David Nakayama

As a woman of color comic shop owner, it's hard to ignore the industry issues. In college, I majored in American Culture with a focused track in ethnic studies. Maybe my perception of things is more skewed as I tend to over analyze situations. I admit, I'm not the most outgoing or friendliest person being that I am actually shy, introverted and force myself to be out there. The husband states that I look scary or unapproachable at times so I'm not discounting this as a factor either. Usually I can be seen at the front counter glaring (more like squinting at the teeny tiny words on the computer screen).

14717169_10107216038752313_1905593392128174601_n.jpg

"I don't know anything about that, ask Stefanie, she knows."
Chris is not only my husband, but my partner in this business. Our skills and knowledge complement each other, making us one whole person lol.

When he tells customers that I'm the one to ask, many times, they look bewildered. I answer their question, but for the most part, seem hesitant to believe me but when Chris backs up what I say, they look more convinced. If he's not around and I answer someone's question, and then he shows up 10 min later, the person will ask him the same thing and say, "You're wife said this" and he said, "yes, that's right." I've also been thrown under the bus by eBay customers when I have had absolutely no interaction with them on there because they didn't like the answer given. SMH

At the recent Great Lakes Comic Con, I was watching over our booth, and there was a group of older gentlemen talking and a customer went up to the group to ask them if this was one of theirs. I was wearing my branded track jacket and we had a sign with our logo in the booth. I said, "It's my booth" and checked the customer out. As they were leaving, but within earshot, another customer mentioned how they shouldn't always assume that the booth is run by a man and shook his head.

When we were first getting started in this business, I introduced myself to a publisher at a convention. I didn't introduce myself as the owner, but I initiated the conversatioquestions. As soon as my husband and his friend who was assisting us at the time went up to him, his eyes lit up, he made eye contact with him and spoke directly and only to him and his friend. That left a bitter taste in my mouth, especially since he was talking about all the diverse books and women led comics they had. Should I have introduced myself as the owner? I initiated the conversation. I was the one asking the questions so did it really matter?

When I saw this article it spoke to me. I felt that finally, there was someone I could relate to in this industry. I know some are ashamed of what was said in this article but I felt happy that I wasn't the only one. I'm sure there are others like me.

https://www.comicsmnt.com/?p=1134

I don't want to focus on the negativity. I don't want to drive a wedge. I want things to change for the better. I don't think I can ever be that champion, I'm not perfect. I know there are too many times I've stayed quiet but maybe the time is now to speak up...

Sort:  

I was pretty appalled by the toxic run up to Captain Marvel launch. It all just seemed easy out of line considering the movie hadn't even released!

I saw it yesterday (after I accidentally bought a ticket a month ahead of time...)... And I have got to say, it was AWESOME!

I can't wait to see it! I just need to find the time.

Damn, your experiences are a shame. Reminds me of a viral internet post I’ve seen a couple times where a man describes how he and his female coworker “switched places” for a week simply by swapping email accounts. His week was a hell of being questioned and berated by clients that normally took his word with ease, while she had her best week ever unfettered by her gender! I’m glad you’re in the comic industry and still muscling through the crap!

I recall reading that and unfortunately it is true. I did notice those differences when signing his name vs mine on email correspondences.

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Congratulations @sorceresssupreme! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70