Failing Mission Artgerm... A Quest in Comic Book Original Art (OA)

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

Many collectors of comic book original art in general, and Stanley “Artgerm” Lau fans in particular, share a common ritual. It goes like this:

  1. Artgerm posts a sketch he drew up (effortlessly as always) on his Twitter account
  2. Thousands of fans make a mad dash for the Shop section of his website
  3. Survival of the fittest, only the quickest gets the prize.

2F68A98D-EA1D-4A15-A1B3-509A9178F357.jpeg

105C7C1A-372C-4440-8664-C1989F9DA106.png

Time and time again I’ve seen amazing OA posted, only to fail to obtain it before everyone else. Domino, White Queen, Supergirl, Spider-Gwen, MJ... it’s a litany of fails for me.

Like this Ichigo piece that I literally had in the cart, but alas, for which I hadn’t pre-filled my address info:

3514681F-59B0-41D8-890D-BA3CCC4EE47A.png

Missed it.

I’m waiting for more to be posted. Yet it’s hard to stay forever vigilant like a crazed otaku. Don’t be surprised if I prove, yet again... Tooooo Sloooow.

B7D9CDDF-9121-4F54-A1DB-D9DF18B9F040.jpeg

FF1A7BEF-1F14-4FBF-B158-6DF7FECBD6B4.jpeg
Credits: twitter.com/artgerm

Sort:  

I feel your pain on missing out of limited quantity items. It makes me happy to see a successful artist has a demand for their art like that but at the same time it feels like we have to sign up for some kind of bot sniping service (see https://www.wired.com/2017/05/using-bots-to-buy-supreme-limited-edition-streetwear/ for an article on what that is) to get the item. So much salt when I see the items being scalped on eBay later oh that burns me up.

Oh maaaan, maybe this is why I always lose... lmao!

UGH!!! I freaking love Artgerm and I understand your pain. I’ve given up on trying to get original/exclusive prints because I’m never fast enough. 😭

I’m glad we can commiserate on here... it’s probably near lottery odds 😢🤣

All fine mate?? 3 days no new post???

I’m back and posted, work is always busy :D

uhhh, cool, some nice cleavage!!! xD

All I see are strong pencil lines, man, get your mind out of the gutter!! : > :D coptic marker actually lol

Hahahaha!
funny guy!!
I'll never do that!! NEVER!! xD

waiting for some

strong pencil lines

on Power Girl!!!!

HOHOHIHIHAHA!
i am the fastest man alive!!!

strong pencil lines

will stay now here forever!!!

if you search for Artgerm Power Girl, ridiculous...!!

sorry, found no translation for ARTGERM. Whats that?

Stanley Lau’s nickname :D

ohhh, found on deviantart.com!
Thx man for support.
my english is not the worst and also not the best! so it is sometimes hard to get it all!!

My pleasure my good man : )))

Launch impact is great !

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Steven S. Nam from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95