Comics Pro-tip, Lettering, Carol Lay, Aaron Renier and the Joy of Publishing Comics

in #comics5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190226_173234914.jpg

Carol Lay and Aaron Renier pro cartoonists can offer sound advice to spring cartoonists.

Tangent:

When I was a college lad I edited the comics section of our weekly newspaper, the UWM Post. It was inexplicably named Kronk! with an exclaimation point. It was one of my moments of glory. I wanted to edit Kronk!, I walked into the office of the editor-in-chief, said so, and was handed the duties. I then proceeded to expand the three comic collection to, at its most glorious moment, a proper six page comics section.

Kronk! was the best thing in turn of the century American newspaper comics publishng. Beginning with Carol Lay's clean line style 15 panel Story Minute, Life in Hell, and a thing called Everyday Kid, I added (amongst others) Kaz's Underworld, Bud Grace's Piranha Club, Krazy Kat dailies, Ben Katchor's Julius Kniple, and scooped the entire New World, reprinting Peter Blegvaad's, Leviathan.

Also, I was the first publication to print the Aaron Renier work that became Spiral Bound: Top Secret Summer. He called his strip Blue Water.

IMG_20190226_125226675.jpg
IMG_20190226_125238330.jpg

Here's his first book where a bunch of kids build a ceramic submarine:
91Dqypd6m-L.jpgcraigbyaaron.jpg adventure on the high seas became plucky youths coming of age, discovering art, facing their fears. A good read. Pro to Mr. Renier can teach us: Let the idea evolve.

Kronk! was glorious and completely ignored. Except by the local rag, The Milwaukee Journal, who after Kronk!'s cancellation immediately followed my lead picking up The Piranha Club, and Mutts.

I loved publishing comics. I had the privilege of picking up the phone and calling my favourite cartoonists. I had a great talk with Carol Lay one afternoon.
Tangent:
I crossed paths with Lay much later as we both enjoyed our first visit to Black Rock City of the Burning Man catch-all festival. When I say "crossed paths" I mean we were both there but never met. I learned of her visit by her retelling in Story Minute.

581310-50.jpg Story Minute by Carol Lay, originally published, 10SEP07. Or... maybe this actually isn't Story Minute, forgive me, Mz. Lay.

I read the final panel, above, and felt a strange bond. I also had seen that meteor. And I had been working a barista shift when they burned the man early. Time anchors.

How often do you happen to look up at the right time, under the right conditions to see meteor? Of this small number, how many times do you see it cross the face of the full moon lunar eclipse? Of this even smaller number, how many times is the moment shared by one of your favourite cartoonists whom you published 8 years earlier; both of you looking up at the moon at the exact same time?

Anti-tangent:

Pro Tip!

At this time of my college excursion I published my own attempt at cartooning along side these greats that I had assembled (soiling them). Here's a link to my own haphazard attempt calledGoobers in glorious 90's Tripod

Carol Lay is a professional. I wrote her a letter asking her for professional help. Specifically, how did she letter her comic? She wrote a two page response and drew this detailed diagram.

IMG_20190226_112804415.jpg

Lettering, it's about clarity. Get an Ames Guide and a straight edge and a nib of appropriate thickness. Or be a soulless monster and let a computer do it.

Remember, no matter how inconspicuous your letter-drawing penmanship, it is still your own. The font-form spat from a computer is not.

And neither are those horribly mathematic word balloons!

Find the stunning Carol Lay here.

Find the playful and dextrous AaronRenier here.

Sort:  

Firstly: I love the displaying of comics and a clear rendering of the panels. Especially with each looking high quality for the cartoony æsthetics. Considering I haven't seen many comics in my life, I shan't comment much more other than I wish the comic strips I do rarely see would at least display quality effort. Then again, I've been on the rush so maybe I did miss a whole bunch of jewels. (And yes I am purposefully separately, despite the shared industry, comic strips from a newspaper and a proper comic.)

Otherwise, I think very much a nice guide that includes very much personal anecdotes that are very appropriate for a post like this. This is no joke, professional posts and papers will include the word I - lest it was a report. So I like it when I know people aren't bs-ing on professional (or just starting out things) and throwing in ways you've contacted other professionals which now translates to a post like this. To end this, I really do feel this would be a nice tutorial post for people coming into the industry; especially those choosing to do it online.

So happy sails and happy steeming!

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. I wish you good success.

Welcome for the comment! ~^.^~
And thanks for the luck, will definitely need it.

Thanks you kindly.

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

I think comic magazines or comic books are much more simple and with drawings simply drawn for readers to understand.
I hope comics will grow much more.
Great job on writing about comics!

Thank you, Ronel. I hope comics grow more as well.

Oh yeah!
I guess comics will not be obsolete.

Great work @the.skrauss I must say, you're very talented at writing comics. I loved all the stories around, specially the burnt out 😀 And, It was also nice to read about your experiences. Have a great day.

Thank you for your comments.
Yes, Carol Lay is an excellent cartoonist.

Thanks, I appreciate your encouragement.

Hi the.skrauss,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @the.skrauss! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63