Squarespace, WordPress, and all other and all social media

in #comics5 years ago (edited)

I scoff at Wordpress.
I mean really, why am I publishing my content on a site that immediately follows my awesomeness with lameness? I refer to their adbotvids. Ads for things that I don't care about and find repulsive?

Focus...
Here's a new episode my webcomic, formerly published on wordpress:
IMG_20190224_222730065.jpg
IMG_20190224_222750169.jpg
IMG_20190224_222810036.jpg
A couple weeks ago I was really into the channeled texts of Paul Selig, now I'm wondering if I'm just a gullible idiot. Some would say yes. Maybe I'm just evolving, Selig's book did cause me to move away from occultism.
Tangent:
WordPress looks bad. I have a Squarespace site, why am I not using that? Maybe you can relate to my dilemma; I love publishing content and building websites, here's a link to my first endeavour in that area, it's on Tripod! Ah, the glorious 90's!

but Squarespace templates are too restrictive, and social media is far more restrictive, but because it is I enjoy flying within those limited parameters. To continue the flight metaphor, I can book a flight in first class on United, but it will cost me half the skin cells on my body, and on the way to New Orleans will stop in Deluth, Detroit, Dallas, Denver, and Hell Michigan (in that order). Or I can book a flight on No Frills Squeeze Yourself In and Don't Expect a Snack Airlines. I can afford NFSYIDESA, and the flight is 12 hours shorter in duration. In Squarespace web templates I expect to do it completely my way but can only do it their way. On social media I have no such expectations, I just set it and forget it, as we say in the moving business. I put my content down and walk away.
Did you follow that?

Plus, on social media there's the addictive kick of likes, shares, and comments.
Steemit has now upped all that by monetising. I've made 4¢ on my last post and had 11 upvotes!

Hell yes! That's more money than I made in the last decade of Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, D2L, YouTube, Linkedin, Flickr, Tumblr... am I missing any? Tripod...

The point is that I would just switch everything to Steemit, but it lacks one feature, indexability. Old posts get buried.
Anti-tangent:
Exponential Growth will probably move to Squarespace and send links here. Then I'll post this link on bitpatron,gab, and minds.
Marketing sure gets convoluted.

Sort:  

I was wondering whether or not to begin blogging/posting on wordpress or steemit, thanks for helping me make up my mind. Steemit seems to be a great way to enter a community, gain a fan base/following, which translates to rewards, which further motivates the creation of quality content.

It's a very positive environment. And, yes, the monetary reward up the like button ante.
It's also web discoverable, which is good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62981.24
ETH 3034.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75