“Shiver” A selection of Junji Ito’s short horror stories.

in #comics6 years ago (edited)


I freaked out when I unwrapped this book on Christmas because it felt like I was just talking about Ito’s short stories. @kommienezuspadt knows what I like and I’m surprised the he was able to catch me off guard with this book. I swear, he’s got this special ability in finding and gifting the best presents. 

If you aren’t familiar with these books or Ito’s work then I suggest you check out my blog post from a few months ago. It’s titled, “Another horror manga by Junji Ito and his creepy illustrations.”

There is a video included in the post (by Super Eyepatch Wolf) which talks about Ito’s work and how media scares us. It’s good and it left me curious about Ito’s short stories, which I thought were unattainable...until NOW!


INCLUDING NINE OF JUNJI ITO’S BEST SHORT STORIES, AS SELECTED BY THE AUTHOR HIMSELF AND PRESENTED WITH ACCOMPANYING NOTES AND COMMENTARY.

An arm peppered with tiny holes dangles from a sick girl’s window... After an idol hangs herself, balloons bearing the faces of their destined victims appear in the sky... An amateur film crew hires an extremely individualistic fashion model and faces a real bloody ending... An offering of nine fresh nightmares for the delectation of horror fans.


So far, I’ve only read two out of the nine stories. The one I’m most curious about is ‘Hanging Blimp’. Super Eyepatch Wolf seemed really excited when he spoke about this particular story and I’m hoping that it’s worth all the hype. 

Here is a look into the opening page of the story ‘Shiver.’ I’m still blown away by the art in this book. I want to get better at inking! I also don’t mind the colored cover images. It’s different from the other two books that I own and I think it still looks scary. 

I will admit that the stories so far are not as terrifying as I had hoped. I also felt a little silly when I discovered the last pages of each story filled with notes. I dove right into the book without realizing that there would be a section for the author’s commentary/notes. It’s fascinating to read about Ito’s ideas and where he drew inspiration.

If you enjoy seeing behind the scenes work or watching films with the director’s commentary on then I’m sure you’ll appreciate this collection of shorts.


Thanks for reading!

Are you familiar with Junji Ito’s work? 🦊

Sort:  

YESSSSSS! Did I need to write that in caps? Yes!!! This is one of my son's and I's favorite artist! What a wonderful gift to have received!

Please, feel free to go crazy with the captions! I always get really excited when I discover common interests on Steemit. :)

Haha ok I will!
I love watching the Horror Show Presents show on YouTube! Do you? One of my faves was Dissection Girl by Junji!

OMG OMG I AM SO JEALOUS! I love Junji Ito's art!

It's so dark and gory. Just my style. So thoughtful of @kommienezuspadt to get you that! :)

Nice..
do you also like horror movies?

I’m a wimp so not really. The music is too much for me to handle.

means you are the same as me. hahaa ..
best regards. do not forget to visit my friend's blog

I love junji ito. His art and story are so detail. For me, he is the king of horror manga.

I’m definitely a fan of his art style. Are there any other manga authors that you would recommend?

There's a lot of mangaka that I like..but not the same genre with Junji Ito. Takehiko inoue, Kazuhiro Fujita, Hirohiko Araki etc. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70013.82
ETH 3766.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80