I Found The Very First Comic I Ever Made Today....

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

Oh man do I have a treat for you. I found the very first comic I ever drew today along with some other cringy yet important artifacts of the beginning days of my comic creator journey. I didn't know I had any of these copies left. When I first started making comics I was working with a group of guys who called themselves Helock Comics.
We were all new and inexperienced in making comics, but I must say it is this group that really got me jump started on the path that has lead me to where I am today. I desperately wanted to be involved when I heard about the first book, so my buddy wrote me a short two page story to draw (it was later combined into one page to help with the page count).
The story was simply named "Facebook".... and here it is:

3.jpg

And there it is. My very first comic. It's fun to look at it again. This is the scan from the book itself, the original artwork is loooonng gone. I probably used it as scrap paper for a later project. This would have been made in around 2010 or so.

Here are the covers of the first four issues of the series. Each issues was an anthology with every artist and writer contributing a different story. Some stories continued through multiple issues, but most of them were standalones.

1.jpg

I worked with these guys for a long time and I still work with one of the writers from the series. Well... he was actually one of the only writers and wrote about 85% of the stories in these issues. Truth be told the rest of us just wanted to draw and he was, and still is, a great writer. It also doesn't hurt that we have been very good friends for a long time. He's actually the one that got me in to comics in the first place.
This is one of the pieces we did together. This is from a 24 hour book that we made as a tribute to one of our members who had fallen ill. My friend wrote the story in about 10 minutes, and I drew it in about 3 hours. I know it doesn't look like it should have taken that long to draw but hey, I was still new at this.
It's a play on a Dr. Seuss story based around Will I Am (cause you know, his name is phonetically spoken like a Dr. Seuss character)

2.jpg

Well there ya go! Some of the very first work I ever did. I will be posting my first full comic shortly so keep an eye out!

And as always, to see more of my work visit https://www.vestebancomics.com/
I have all sort of old and new work always posted there!

VESTEBAN SIGNATURE.jpg

Sort:  

Ahahha poor Angie. But I'm sure she's quite successful in real life XD.
                     
That's a nice first comic, Vesteban. Even in the beginning, you already have good grasp about story and panelling. And your art has improved leaps and bounds since then on :D.

Wow, your very first comic ! It is amazing to sometimes revisit our old art... I can see that you've already got a sense of flow of story telling even back then :) Hope to see more from you soon <3

Thank you! It's fun to come across these, I will post them as them come.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Today I don't feel like doing anything..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99