Sort:  

I read quite a bit of Ayn Rand growing up. I still do occasionally. That likely biased me to some degree, but I do try to recognize when I might be biased and read and research when someone points me in a good direction. The problem is that so far the things people have asked me to read in support of communism have been rife with logical fallacies. It felt like walking through a land mine field of generalizations, appeal to authority, appeal to popularity, and appeal to emotion. The evidence was lacking and it was all about manipulation. It was not about presenting me with ideas and making my own mind up, instead it was largely about HATE and talking about the bad evils, and woes, and thus trying to fire up emotions. Very little substance with a lot of manipulation and I notice that stuff, so when I notice it I get very annoyed.

Thank goodness you can think straight. People are so easily brainwashed. People seem to fall for things that sound good. They so willingly receive the "free stuff" - and they think that is the way to go. Then they are trapped in dependency and helplessness. They won't be able to fight back. The thing is the ideology is very enticing. The big problem is the leaders are usually diabolical. I know I only can say things in a very general way. But I have read stories of people's experiences living under communism. Thanks for getting people to think.

They so willingly receive the "free stuff"

They should vote for "Vermin Supreme" then he'll give them free ponies. :)

The big problem is the leaders are usually diabolical.

I've actually started calling them what they are. I believe Leaders are someone we can choose to lead and choose not to. If you are a good cook and we are going to cook, I'll let you lead. If we are going into war and you are a good tactician or strategist then perhaps you should lead. The general should not lead when we are cooking.

The problem is actually with RULERS. Those who can make up the rules and FORCE the rest of us to follow them. We are not voluntarily following them.

So I've started making a distinction between leaders and rulers as I think there actually is one.

Free stuff if you produce more than you consume, what's not fair or great about that?
(sarcasm off)

Do you know people who live this way?
If this is their choice and they are happy, no problem, good for them.
It's all the people who have no choice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.52
ETH 2989.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71