Supporting The Urban Militia

I spent Thanksgiving weekend with my family! Between food and football, I likely talked my family's ears off. While in the kitchen with my Dad, a proud Vietnam Veteran, he mentioned that for every Infantry on the ground, there were ten people supporting that soldier. That led to me mentioning the idea of the "Social Justice Warrior" from a few years ago.

I also got to thinking of how I can best respond to a United States where people of color and their allies are likely to be targets, either from the police or armed vigilantes. I started thinking about this soon after Rittenhouse's acquittal, and realized that what I was already doing may be enough. I did realize there are a tasks in various states of delay that may need to be re-activated. The first is completing the Ad Blocker and VPN Pi project that I called Safespace; I have the blocker set up, but still need to add the VPN capabilities. A second piece of business is the Community Defense page that began as a response to the January 6th attacks. One addition will be a video explaining the SALUTE method that may have given activists a chance in Kenosha.

Not all of my responses are existing solutions. During a Facebook log-off, I discovered Diaspora. I also discovered there are no convenient local servers. I have a basic knowledge of LINUX, but wonder if I could learn enough system administration techniques and tools to run a Diaspora server. The next step would be to to set up a server.

The response to vigilantes may be for people of color to form community defense networks that would be much like militias. Like any fighting force, they may need folks working away from the front lines.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67