You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some New Adventures: ♪ Movin' on up! ♫ and Save the BASE!

in #community6 years ago

I know your young life has been profoundly influenced by medical issues. That's rotten luck, and scary. All those services you received, you're entitled to them. There should be no Medicaid. Shouldn't be a separate way of paying for necessary care. It should be a unified system that covers everyone, like Medicare, except better. Because under Medicare, people can still be impoverished by medical bills.
Enjoy the sun, enjoy the good days. May they last, and last.
All the best to you.

Sort:  

There should be no Medicaid. Shouldn't be a separate way of paying for necessary care. It should be a unified system that covers everyone, like Medicare, except better. Because under Medicare, people can still be impoverished by medical bills.

Agreed. In fact, the only reason I am on Medicaid is because Medicare is insufficient for my medical needs. Unfortunately, in order to receive Medicaid when you are on SSDI in my state, you must stay at about half of the federal poverty level (around $645 a month) and are not allowed to have more than $2000 dollars in total assets at any given time. My SSDI income is greater than $645, so I have to pay the difference back each month. I am basically agreeing to live in poverty in order to save my health and credit from being destroyed by unreasonable medical bills.

Kim and I cannot marry without jeopardizing either my healthcare or her income. Technically, the way my states law is written, if we present ourselves as an (unmarried) couple in public, buy each other any type of ring, or have a joint bank account, she is supposed to be penalized as if she were my legal spouse.

And getting a 'real' job is kind of pointless. I would have to forfeit all my earnings to the state to remain adequately insured. It is a fucking mess. And a frustrating one at that. Yet somehow it is still ever so slightly better than how things were when I was not on Medicaid; living in a constant state of financial insolvency and not knowing what care I would be able to receive. It's the ol' Medicaid poverty trap at play. There is a whole host of other problems with most states Medicaid laws that contribute to the cycle of poverty. I once gave a presentation on the subject to a local nonprofit group that was examining forms of institutionalized oppression.

If I could get by on just being on Medicare (or some other form of healthcare that didn't require you constantly being able to work), Kim and I could marry (or at least stop pretending I am her tenant), I could work legally as I was able; it would almost be like I was a normal person! Haha.

Sorry. I am just kind of venting/ranting now. I need to stop myself. I told you I could go on and on about this stuff. Haha.

Good night, friend.

Not a rant--the truth. There's always a place for that.
Be well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69731.54
ETH 3810.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84