You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Building Friendships on Steemit - Tell Me Something About Yourself and Have a Chance to Win 10 SBD!

in #community6 years ago

Alrighty guys,
I'm Annabel! I'm a CNA which is a certified nursing assistant. I love taking care of the elderly, and I plan to do so for as long as I'm able. In the US we sadly have a lot of issues with patient neglect and abuse which breaks my heart. That's why I plan to go back to school (when I can afford it) for an RN degree. I want to change the system and create a much brighter future for our grandparents and loved ones. That's just one thing about me, but I feel like that is a major role in my life. (:
P.S: If you have loved ones in a care facility I beg you to get to know the people taking care them. It's a major help for both the patient, the nurse, and the families peace of mind.

Sort:  

That is awesome that you love taking care of people, I bet they have some great stories, I remember when I was about 10 and our church went to a nursing home, a gentleman told me the greatests stories of how he helped install railroad tracks in Las Vegas when he was young.

We can make the world a better place, we are the change we want to see!
I help the poor people here in Venezuela teaching them English for free (not everybody but a few people who I see the desire and passion to learn) and I also work in a High School where most of the Teachers have quit due to the low payment (low salary). I love Teaching and inspiring, your post is similar, but in another field (of course your work is greater and harder than mine!)

I wouldn't say it's any greater or harder. The desire to make the world a better place is a noble task. I'm so glad to hear you're teaching others. The greatest gift anyone can give in this world is knowledge. You're helping ensure this world has a better tomorrow. I thank you for it!

Nice nice work keep the spirit flowing

I love to see the spirit of care and affection in people esp towards the elderly because it kind of tells the level of understanding that people posses about life. Cuz someday we are gonna be old too, so how would we take care of people @80-90yrs is a function of how we would want to be taken care of.
So hospitality is my thing and when I see it in others I encourage it.

I agree completely! How we treat others is a good reflection of our personalities. I was always taught to live by 'the golden rule' "treat others how you would want to be treated" So hopefully when I get too old to take care of myself I will have made a difference and get the treatment we all deserve. I wish you the best in all you do friend. (:

Love this message :) and not just because it has the word “gold” in it this time !

We do need to pay attention to our sick better in the US. It's all about the money. Glad to see you trying to make a difference!

JGV

i would be very happy to pay back people like you with good. People whose job is to take care of other people. Especially those who do it with a good sense of humanity. Thanks for your job. Let me drop off one of my most lovely quote. It concerns YOU. Here it is - CARE GIVERS NEED CARE!

The best way to pay back kindness is to pay it forward.
Being kind is something that we can all do which costs nothing, and that is a beautiful thing. (:

Good thing you have that kind of initiative, there are many grandparents needing love that sometimes their relatives can not give, the same happens here in other countries. In my country, Venezuela, I am a volunteer in the oncology hospital for children in the city where I live, I have learned that sometimes more than medicines, many people just need a hug from God. Greetings @aisforannabel

I hope that one day I'll be able to afford to do pro-bono work down there. (for both the charity and the fact I've heard it's beautiful there. )
I respect and appreciate the work you do! God bless you! Thank you so much for it, a caring heart goes a long way in this world! @tibyjimenez

We hope so. God bless you

Thank you so much for sharing with us @aisforannabel. It is people like you that give me hope. Paatient neglect among elderly patients is such a huge issue in the United States, and I so appreciate that you are on the front lines of that trying to make a difference.

Thank you for also giving some tips to those who have family in a care facility. Getting to know the nurses and people who take care of them is a great idea.

It is my pleasure to do this work. It's hard, back-breaking, and mostly hard on your heartstrings. But the emotional connection you get from your patients makes it all worth it.
Plus the elderly have the best stories! They've told me things that I will cherish for a lifetime, plus they give damn good advice because they've seen a lot more than we have. I just want to help our system become a little less broken in any way I can. Kindness is key(:
Once again, thank you for the lovely idea, I've found some amazing people through this post! @coruscate

Being a medico,I can say that this is a big issue not only in the US but all over the world.Irrespective of the age,gender,religion or colour all patients have to be taken care of and need to be treated as proper human beings by all medical personnel and all other people.

@ameet77804 I agree completely! It's a serious issue that we need to make more clear to the public, a lot of people don't realize where we are all headed if we don't take action to care of our elders now.

Beautiful and inspiring, I love to see that people help when they can !!

It is really admirable how dedicated you are in taking care of elderly. I believe you will get the reward you deserve because you have the kindest heart. Not all people have a heart like yours. I mean some have a bad and short temper understanding and taking care of the elders. I used to live and grew up having my great grandmother beside me, she took care of us in every way she can. She cooks for us and we, her grand childrens feels the love she have for us. Then one day she got sick and got hospitalized. That's the time that we returned the care she has given us. We took care of her and attend to her needs to the best way we can. But sadly she passed away almost 7 years ago at the age of 88. I remember she told me this "I am sorry I became a burden to all of you." I told her that It was our turn now to take care of her. I was teary eyed that time but I am glad that I've been able to tell her how thankful we are for taking good care of us when she was still strong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59