My engagement on Steemit replies is dropping and I plan to change that... And you should too!

in #community6 years ago (edited)
I feel quite terrible. Today is the first day in quite a few that I have enough time to sit down and reply to the comments left on my posts and I came to realize that I hardly answer to 20-30% of the comments I get.

That is just plain wrong

You know why?

Because when people ask me how I grew so much on Steemit so fast, I start preaching about engaging with other authors, commenting on their posts, replying to the comments you get, spreading your vote as much as you can etc.

And I haven´t been doing that. I have received more than 1,000 comments during the past 2 weeks and I have replied to roughly 200 (Ok, 300 comments came on a contest post which are pretty much self explanatories but still), it is a below average reply rate from my side.

The truth is, if you have time to post, you must have time to reply to the comments people leave on your posts. They are making an effort to engage with you, so you should do the same.
When I started on Steemit, I was replying to 80-90% of the comments I got on my posts and I used to comment in at least 10 other posts a day, now I can hardly keep up with my own post replies. Back in May when I joined chat servers, I was replying to almost everyone, now I have dozens of unread messages from people who are probably reaching out to me to get support or advice.

And you know what? It was that behaviour from the beginning of my steemit journey that got me where I am today, and I am losing my essence. People are telling me I ignore them, that I´m not as friendly as I used to be or they just simply stop commenting on my posts because they are not getting feedback or engagement from me.

It´s not that I don´t want to engage, it´s just that I´m involved in so many projects that sometimes I find it very hard to keep up with everything, especially when I am travelling.

But you know what? Recently I made a contest about "being a role model Steemian", and I think I´m not being one right now, these past few days and I intend to change that.

I am not going to post something unless I already replied to at least 75% of the worthy comments I get - yeah, I am not going to reply to one liners or spam comments - from people that are actually taking the time to read, think and reply on my posts.

And you should follow my example

Steemit is based on engagement and making social relations - real social relations - and I am going to keep trying to be worthy of calling myself a committed Steemian, and I hope you do that too.
So let´s make a deal, let´s not publish our next post until we have reached at least 5-10 comments on other people´s posts and we have replied to at least 75% of the comments we get on ours.

Can I count on you?

Read other people´s posts, comment, vote and especially...

Remember, be Here Now

Sort:  

Great post @anomadsoul! This is very helpful and gently encouraging. I’m going to do the same. Thanks!

Loading...

That is the best way to go. But everybody also need to understand it gets harder to keep up with...the more we grow.

I have not grown much yet and I am experience this occasionally. We just can't just stop trying because that is one of those things that contributed to the growth.

Great insight @anomadsoul

Your dedication and empathy are inspiring. The simple fact that you accept the truth is the biggest step one can do to recover.

@agoodsoul is more appropriate in your case. Cheers and happy traveling!

yes that's right, i also do the same problem comment. replying to comments is a must-have thing to me because it does not portray pride. I totally agree with your opinion.

Exactly, if you dont reply its like you dont care or even that you think as it is not worthy of your time right? So lets start replying the most we can.

I feel you, though I've only been here for roughly two weeks, the engagement I made the first week was what has gotten me this reputation score in such a short period of time. I know I have a valid excuse with being busy with my job, the crappy internet connection I've been having and, of course, life gets in the way. But yeah, I think I really should allot even just my free time to engage with other people. :)

Sometimes when eating alone or before going to bed, just taking 15 minutes to reply to other people is more than enough right? :D Life can get in the way I understand that

Hello @anomadsoul !

I think your journey in steemit is incredible and the fact you are trying to increase your engagement is a good example and shows how important it is.

I wonder if you at some time made a post telling the community about your beginnings? I would like to read something like that coming from an user like you.

Cheers pal!

You are right about the engagement, I try to answer 100% on all of my comments, and I do keep up with that percentage, if I don't include spam comments.

Just because of the engagement, for the last post, I talked to so many people while writing the 3k+ words post, got so much feedback that I felt like I mean something you know... I love helping but... sometimes lack of resources stop you in your intention.

Yeah I mean no one should count spam hahaha.
Do you have a link to that post? You just made me curious.

Yea ofcourse I have, give it a read you won't regret it, one peson with 61 rep said he didn't know about half of the comunities I've put up in the article, that was so astonishing for me since even I don't have close to 61... https://steemit.com/community/@positivity420/communities-a-must-for-everyone

I'll make sure to check it out, thanks for dropping the link ^^

No problem, if it was shitpost honestly I wouldn't even mention it...
Please tell me what you feel about it after you've read it :)

I think I've responded to all of my comments, of course if they are genuine.

I find your proposal interesting and I am happy to follow it, but for me it is easy, I do not have as many answers as you, if in each post you recive hundreds of comments it becomes very complicated.

Well its different for everyone, perhaps you can focus on commenting more om other people's posts! The point is to increase interaction however we can.

Yes you can, and thanks for the realization because that is greatly damaging the engaging nature of the platform...thanks again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67