You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Are Your Favorite Communities On The Steemit Platform?

in #community6 years ago

Well, #classical-music is still pretty much a niche genre here and we've suffered a big drop off due to the falling crypto prices, but there still are a few of us keeping the candle burning at @classical-radio and @classical-music! We'll be ready when the pace picks up again!

Sort:  

I love classical music. Didn't know about this one. Thanks for sharing it. Are you the curator or involved with it in any way?

I run and curate for @classical-radio, @remlaps set up the original tag and account @classical-music. His interest is via his son (@cmp2020) , who is a composer and pianist. My interest is that I'm a professional violinist!

Cool. I wish I could play the violin.

Have you considered entering the Steemit Open Mic contest? We would love to hear you play some music.

I had looked into and I encourage others to do it, but there is a couple of things that stop me (nothing to do with openmic though).

Firstly, there is the professional hazard of putting out something in public that might not be the top quality recording that is possible, as I don't have proper recording equipment (that is usually done for me and the groups I play in, I have no idea how it works!) I don't think I would be able to do something that I would be happy to have in the public space.

Second, most of my music is for ensembles and orchestras, or at least one of two other people! All the people I know are professional musicians, and are thus mercenary when it comes to this sort of thing!

I have put up a couple of things that I had on Soundcloud, and I also have put up a couple of things from @musicapoetica, but at the moment the reward structure of Steem is a pretty big disincentive for professional established classical musicians to put their work here...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67