Why Most Of Us Are Humans

in #community6 years ago (edited)

IMG_4243.JPG

Have you ever thought about your behaviour on Steemit? The system is free, so you have to put up your own rules.

Have you put up your own rules and follow them?

You don't use voting bots or don't ever try to get the attention of whales? You spend most of the time here searching for content, that's valuable for you? You see every content a friend or family member shares in an objective way? You don't upvote yourself? You don't vote comments, since they are just comments? You don't vote just because of your feelings for somebody, you are always critic and aware of the relations to the whole community?

That would be the perfect behaviour on Steemit. You follow all of these points?

Congratulations, you are perfect!



You behave like an android who's intentions are made to be fair and to figure out what content is the most valuable.

But we are no androids.


We are human



In some way I see the necessarity of being an android, when I want equality and a world of peace and understanding. As an android I could just calculate the best behaviour for me. Not regarding my irrational feelings.

But especially tolerance and respect to me are more than a calculation. Androids would never have these warm feelings I have for these terms.

So tell me, Steemit... how do we want to be? Too moral? Is this open and decentralized system about not trusting anybody and wanting to have proof? Do we have to control our actings until we become androids? Do we just want to be free and we need to be open, so nobody distrusts us? No rules and not minding our own behaviour in relation to the community? So we have to accept anything? And it's okay to ignore our influence? Power and influence brings responsibility. You disagree?

We want you up there on top to be androids who are acting perfectly.
I am sorry to say: That's the price you pay for earning the most money. We want to see your value for the community. Since the content has to be the most valuable thing, we will be very critical about the things you share. Many people will take a closer look on your actings and intentions.

Give up your freedom and you will have money and power! While most of us are running for money and power, because we believe, we can only be free, when we have both. That's the deal.

And what we all forget in these discussions about fairness is...
just being human and trying to understand the opposite position to find a middle way everyone profits from with not spending too much effort.

Without calling us capitalists, communists, nazis...

I will never understand, why we just can't call us humans?


main image: [https://pixabay.com/de/italien-pinocchio-marionette-conte-2347390/]$

Sort:  

Nice post! This came just after a day I had to relax my "rules" and wrote a post about them.

Yep, there's a lot of abuse going on in Steemit and unfortunately, we can't deal with that abuse, unless we relax our rules a little.

So, I find it OK to to upvote someone's post without actually reading it, if you know that that person is providing genuine value to the platform.

The alternative is letting the abusers take advantage of your Steem and Voting Power.

love your post. Also i always feel urged to point out that steem may be voluntary, but it is only the first generation and far from what is possible in unregulated systems. The protocol puts very hard limits on what we can do and eventually we will settle for better alternatives.

Definitely don't want a bunch of robots. Otherwise I probably would not have left Facebook nearly a decade ago. Robots are just plain boring.

I started writing a comment but it was just getting to long and I don't really have the time to articulate my thoughts on all of the issues that you and many others have been bringing up. I think I may turn it into a post so that once and for all, I can have my opinions on the whole issue in one place. As apposed to being spread about between 30 different posts in 30 different comments.

I'll close with this. I think that it is very beneficial for us to allow ourselves and others a wide range of freedom. Freedom allows personal growth and creativity to blossom, while ridged rules stifles them.

Love your work, it always leaves me thinking. :^)

Thank you very much! I am looking forward to your post! :-)

This post has received a 8.47 % upvote from @kittybot thanks to: @chriddi.

This post has received a 0.05 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @peppermint24.

This post has received a 0.03 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @peppermint24.

Congratulations @brainnipper! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69107.15
ETH 3882.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65