You've Got Everything the World Needs — Actions, Gifts, and Service in Kind - or - Crimmi's Slightly Selfish Unselfish Guide to Feeling Awesome and Becoming Awesomer

in #community6 years ago (edited)

crimsonclad-kkn1.jpg

I want you to feel awesome about yourself.

 
      Some of you may have noticed by now that I get pretty jazzed about helping others feel good; this is not exactly stop-the-presses news. Giving to others, in any capacity, can feel really amazing. I know you've heard it a lot. It's cliche, and especially when we're coming into the holiday season, it feels like the entire universe is yelling, "GIVE, GIVE GIIIIIIIIIIIVE!" It's suddenly exploding on the platform too, as we've seen some really shitty, and some really beautiful actions this week especially — but that's not actually where this post comes from. I've been writing and deleting this for the better part of two weeks, thinking about how to say what's in my heart without sounding like an obnoxious braggart. So I figured, fuck it: I'm going to frame this in a way that really highlights that it's not all about money, and underlines that you can reap some serious personal benefits in the form of emotional, physical, and professional progression when not actually focusing on your own person. If you're feeling like you don't know how to help someone out, and giving feels like crazy pressure to be a perfect, untouchable saint, a rich person, or like you have to sacrifice all your free time and hobbies, maybe this will help. Let's be selfishly unselfish!

Hey, your title is long and stupid, and I'm already awesome. Also, your grammar is sketch. Awesomer isn't a word.

 
      Good point! It's a pretty terrible working title, but I'm here to remind you of all the ways you already possess to be and feel awesome, not to write a legal dissertation, so let's not quibble. Last week, I tapped into the experiences some of my wonderful Discord Steemit friends to help me brainstorm gifts for a family I'm sponsoring for Christmas, because I don't have children myself. I got some valuable insights, and they all helped me out just by sharing their day to day knowledge — win! But I also got a private message that led to a really interesting conversation that kind of struck me right down to my core and made me feel a bit sad. I'm going to paraphrase it here to get you caught up, since my title is already long and unhelpful and this post threatens to head that way too.

"I love that you are buying a Christmas for them. I wish I had the money to do those things."

...
 

      Truth be told, it kind of made my insides hurt a little to hear, and it's one of the reasons I don't do much talking about the charitable/service work I do, both on and off the platform. My personal take on it is that truly, service to others is something that you do for yourself, and for them; it doesn't need to be noticed or recognized by any others for it to make both you and the recipient feel awesome about it. I really don't want anyone to feel bad that they aren't doing enough or giving enough or that kindness has barriers to entry, and hence the struggle in writing this post. It's the way the conversation went afterwards that I wanted to focus in with this.

Everything you do, and everything you are is of value to someone. Forget the fucking money.

 
       Here's where I want you to think about making service or kindness or giving selfish. What are you good at? What do you want to get better at? Your skills, your hobbies, even your day-to-day work... to someone, they're all incredibly treasured. Doing good for others can be an opportunity for you to practice what matters to you. You'll get better at doing the stuff and the things, you'll help someone else, and you'll feel awesome. I mean, far be it from me to tell you that you should never ask, "what's in it for me?" because honestly, I know somewhere deep down the little things that help others are fulfilling to you without reward. But there is actually a lot in it for you, if you consider it with the right mindset. (And really, isn't that the key to working on loving life anyhow?)

crimsonclad-kkn5.jpg

crimsonclad-kkn3.jpg

Let's work with a few concrete examples, and then I promise I'll let you loose to go continue being awesome, and loving on others to become even awesomer.

 
       Last week, one of the animal rescues that I volunteer with threw a fun and fancy cocktail fundraiser. I love photography, and I'm always wandering about practicing and exploring and observing. So I offered to take shots of the event; how is this helpful? How is it selfish? The humane society got pro-am photography services, some beautiful mementos of all the work they pulled together and of all the attendees having a great time, and an extra air of professionalism and excitement for their event. The wonderful folks who showed up got free photos of themselves looking sharp and living it up. And me? I got a whole venue full of smiling, loving subjects to shoot, interesting backdrops and decor, lighting challenges — you name it. I got to do what I love, drink some wine (big bonus,) and practice at becoming a better event photographer. Solid wins, all around. Awesome, all around.

crimsonclad-kkn2.jpg

this rad aspiring artist came, sipped wine and practiced animal faces while listening to music, then donated the sketch to be auctioned that night.
 

I don't have a skill anyone wants. I'm untalented/shy/smell bad/have some other probably completely mental block that's stopping me from sharing my awesome with people.

 
      Your insecurities shouldn't hold you back. I know that's a fucking easy thing to type, but I promise you, there's something you have that will mean the world to someone else, and it doesn't mean you have to run out there and put yourself into the midst of a situation that makes you uncomfortable either. Just remember that taking baby steps towards goals you think are unachievable will help you become awesomer too... just another selfishly unselfish reason to serve. Here are just a few more oddly-specific, real life examples to hammer the point home:

  • Big fitness buff and don't want to lose workout leisure time? Trying to get healthier and need to motivate yourself? Each year I run two half marathons for charity. If you're not a runner, there's almost always a 5k walk category — put on a tshirt, and help a cause in need get seen. Hate any thought of exercise? Flip it, and go stand by the finish line with a funny sign to boost runners in the final stages of the race. Practice your comedy one-liners or your beauty queen wave! (From experience, I can tell you that the people who do this are fucking saints, and have pulled me through when I thought I would fail more than once.)

  • Really into data/design/organization/catchall computer stuff? Contact a non-profit and ask if they need a bit of help around the office. Design an event flyer, and put it in your portfolio. Do some scanning of old receipts, and log the hours for work experience. I swear to you right now, somewhere near you, there is a volunteer admin assistant in an office who would give anything to have you give them an Excel tutorial as they cry into a latte under a teetering stack of tax deductible donation records.

  • Working on becoming a master knitter or crocheter or crafter? Humane societies can always use washcloths, small animal pouches, or pet blankets; shelters and abuse programs always need warm hats or scarves. Don't have any money to buy yarn? I have an awesome, industrious friend who picks up knits for next to nothing at goodwill, unravels them, and turns them into multiple small items to donate. In the process, she's learned how to stitch "bobbles" and the "latvian braid." I don't know what the fuck these are, but they sound really impressive to me. Are you into learning 14th century calligraphy with a quill pen sourced from a goose with a long slender neck? Offer to letter envelopes for thank you cards or formal invitations. EVERYTHING YOU CAN DO OR CAN LEARN IS AWESOME. I THINK YOU GET IT AND WE'VE REALLY TENDERIZED THIS HORSE NOW BUT LET'S CONTINUE.

  • Trying to get better at playing an instrument? Offer to play at small appy event where everyone is focused on the free food; you'll get practice sight reading music or getting over your stage fright. Not ready to hit 'primetime?' Record your practice sessions and your rough play-throughs as you work at it. Make some burned CDs with the tracks grouped by genre and donate them to hospitals or care homes: music therapy is real, and it does incredible things. Simple, unaccompanied melodies or complex pieces slowed down will help you pick up fingering, but could be something that helps someone else calm racing thoughts or lift tired hearts.

crimsonclad-kkn4.jpg

this lovely lady is learning to become a flair bartender, so she came to pour wine, flip bottles, and joke around with people who would be kind to her if she messed up. Muffin the geriatric dog thought she was fucking fantastic.
 

I know you get my point, and I know in my heart you are already awesome. Share that — for others, and for yourself.

 
      This got monstrously long, so sorry about that. What this all boils down to is the same thing you'll see me shout on Discord and other posts and to anyone who will hold still long enough for me to clap at them in real life. (I even clap at myself. Actually.)

KINDNESS 👏 COSTS 👏 NOTHING 👏

 
      Practice your passions and your goals and live and love the things you want to. Even your presence here on Steemit is a gift to others: share your knowledge or expertise or hobbies or job or bizarre manifesto, vote for the things that make you happy, or leave a thoughtful, uplifting comment about how you ALSO have a son named Bort. There's a whole lot of awesome to go around. Be it and feel it, and give freely without a cost to yourself...I promise you'll feel awesomer the moment you start. Change your life. Change someone else's. Change the platform. Change the world. I love you, and I'm rooting for you.

These photos and words are my own work, inspired by travels all over this pretty blue marble of ours. I hope you like them. 🌶️

 
crimsonclad.png

Hi, I'm Crimmi. I help run a top 30 Steemit witness, along with my project partner @followbtcnews. Feel free to reach out to us on Steemit Chat or Discord at any time! If we haven't earned your vote yet, please take some time to look at our tools and our work — place a vote for followbtcnews if you feel we're doing a good job.

Sort:  

What a brilliant post Crimmi.
Just giving someone the time of day can be enough to make them feel awesome.
I already feel awesome most of the time, the reason?
I've surrounded myself with people I love and respect, I never sweat the small stuff and I basically go with the flow. I didn't used to be that way and I was unhappy most of the time, fortunately I discovered that when I was in my early 20's.
Too many people stress about and try to control events they have absolutely no control over, it's pointless, toxic and time consuming.
Focus on things you can affect to improve your lot and you'll end up much happier, so much so you'll want to pay it forward and you'll have time to do it.
Christmas is my favourite time of the year because it gives me an opportunity to make a difference to those I love not just by giving gifts but by spending time catching up with them and spending quality time together.
Time is the key.

Too many people stress about and try to control events they have absolutely no control over, it's pointless, toxic and time-consuming.

Exactly this. It can be so hard, but when you feel like you are unable to control something futile and it weakens you, turn to another aspect of your life where you can control your actions, and therefore sway the outcome... like choosing to be kind. Thank you, Perc <3

KINDNESS 👏 COSTS 👏 NOTHING 👏

See, I can do the claps, if I have you to copy from.

Copy paste
;-)
I can spam that!

Beautifully said. We can all give something, even if it's just a little time to take notice of others. It doesn't have to be a big gesture - the little things can make all the difference.

It's true. I swear to god I'm going to get better at managing my time and try to comment more on the posts of people who need the encouragement, and the ones who still support me even though I suck at it currently <3

Like that!

WAHHHH!!!!! Totes crying now!
You are amazing, Crimmi!
You never cease to amaze me!
This is a beautiful post, and I don't know where you find the time to do all that you do! (Especially listen to me blubber on Discord in DM's! giggles) Fierce woman!
You are an inspiration!

And you know, all I did was wander around eating free vegan food taking photos of interesting things.
Kindness and concern and being genuine are things you live with your whole heart. You are the epitome of strength and I'm pretty sure the two of us getting weepy at each other in DMs just goes to show we're fierce ladies who have a soft, loving side.

Thank You.
You have an amazing attitude!
No smart-ass remark ,or comment from me.
:-)
Nothing but praise!
Namaste

You're a smart ass with a big heart, and I see you give and be kind. The awesome is real.

Such a beautiful post, everyone has something to give that is so very true, even if you have no skills just giving your company and time to someone in need is valuable. Pretty sure awesomer can be a word as can awesomesauce!

🖤🖤🖤
another excellent word. I should have checked the long-tail metrics of both, for SEOs sake. 😂

Love this Crim, completely agree with what you said here. Kindness is free.

all of the aussies have shown me nothing but kindness 😊

Animal shelters need people to walk dogs or "socialize" (play with) kittens. Hospitals need someone to read to children, in many different languages. Thrift stores need people to sort donations. Not everyone needs cash, or stuff. Sometimes people just need someone to show up.

So true, and great examples! I haven't mentioned a lot of really obvious volunteer stuff or this quite literally would have gone on forever. The selfish flipsides...if you can't get a pet, get your fill of cute... walk dogs to get your daily steps in, help combat addictive behaviours or a fear of contact by experiencing unconditional love and practicing returning it...

During my last shift at the rescue, we had a feral come in who was snapping and swatting everyone. It took me more than an hour, and reading three stories from authors from @thewritersblock out loud, but I did get a few small touches and a purr. Love is love is love.

Waaaaaaaah I wants to love on the mean ole kitty :( I have a soft spot for ferals!

Very inspiring crimy and I enjoyed the practical examples.

thanks, cizzo~ everyone has something to offer!

Awesomer is a word. Saw it on the internet, so it has to be true. Plus, I've used it before. So yah.

Good point. See? Reinforcement is kindness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94