Stop ignoring the minnows post!!!

in #community6 years ago (edited)

Hello people my discussion here would be short and precise.
Have joined the steemit community for over a month and half now, before I joined this amazing platform, I was told its a community where people help each other in order to be able to achieve his/her goals. Its a community where they are ready to bring the best out of you and pay you for it.. But am sorry to say, all that have heard about this platform is false.
In evidence to my statistics it is only the already become whales that are benefitting more from this platform, in most cases the people with higher reputation is the people that get more upvotes, comment and resteem. It is only on a rare occasion would you see a person that has low reputation and have high upvotes. I know my post can also be ignored but I have to pour my mind out and try to speak on a good change..
On what have been observing, most people that get upvotes, gets them from their friends, the people they know facially and its wrong, its supposed to be a platform where whales acknowledge a minnows effort by voting 100% for minnows rather than 3%, 2', 1% and now voting a whale colleague with 100%. I think the minnows with low reputation need this upvote than a friend with high reputation. We are not in steemit to help only people we know, we are on steemit to acknowledge good work and help each other out.... Its true they will always be minnows and whales, but I think the minnows should be given more attention than the high earners... I will implore people like @jerry_banfield, @swissclive, @ned, @surpassinggoogle, @ehiboss, @destiny_said and the likes to pay more of their attention on steemit to us the minnows
Below are some ideas of to improve the minnows

  1. Organise contests only for minnows with maybe 45 downwards reputation every week
    2.upvote at least 20 good content by a minnow per day from 20 different tags
    3.upvote minnows comment with high voting strength
    4.make freebies available for the minnows every week...

I think with these, plenty minnows will smile every week I met not be part of them but it's a thing of progress that will make this community grow wider.. Minnows are tired of 0.01$ on their post, pls endeavor to make amends, this is all for now
Thanks for reading, if you think I have made sense in this post pls, comment, upvote, resteem this post
Still my humble self @dickiebash
God bless Nigeria
God bless us all

Sort:  

I think the best strategy is to upvote content you think is good or funny or interesting or thought provoking, rather than take too much notice of who is big or small. There is some benefit to looking strictly for small people but I think the content is the bigger thing there. Even then if you go "Yes I'll help the little guy", you vote for the little guy that has content that you like. This goes both way. The big guys who vote on big guys should only be voting on content that they like from other big guys, not just voting because they are all big. People are going to vote for friends because they like their friends and want to help them. That's not going to stop. If someone I knew personally was struggling to pay bills etc and I knew they were on here, of course I would upvote them because I know they need income to help them survive. But people should be looking at the quality of the content when looking at strangers, not just going "That person is big / small as well - I'll vote for them". It should be based on the quality of the content. It's like how I like some other small YouTubers but I also like some big YouTubers.
We defintiely shouldn't have groups that agree they will all vote on each other's posts though and there seems to be a few of them around. The circle jerk vote only helps those within that and means those massively voted posts are always up the top of certain categories.

"where whales acknowledge a minnows effort by voting 100% for minnows rather than 3%, 2', 1% and now voting a whale colleague with 100%"
I don't think I quite understand how that works though - you can somehow choose what percentage of your vote goes to who? How do you do that because I don't know how to do that? I seem to only be able to click on the upvote to vote and have no control over percentages and shit.

Hello birchmark!. You are right friend

Congratulations @dickiebash! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Yes... I agree with you

Thank you my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64453.46
ETH 2971.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59