A wonderful journey, amazing communities, and exciting projects

in #community6 years ago

When I first started steemit, I knew no one in this community. Though a friend of mine had recommended steemit a few months before. She was not involved in the platform, and her description of it was vague. Though on her recommendation I checked out the site, I doubted it's integrity and quickly forgot about it. Sometime later I was listening to my favorite alternative news source @roguemoney, and they began to explain why they loved the steemit platform. That's when I decided to sign up.

20180130_012707.jpg

I struggled for the first month trying to build my account alone. Commenting on and upvoting every post that I could find, while doing my best to write quality post. Though I kept seeing different communities, I was distrusting of Discord. Having read the about the dangers of clicking on outside links, I chose to stay away. Initially my focus was to join as many contest as I can find. I had discovered that contest were a great way to earn steem.

My first big break came when I stumbled upon a contest that no one seemed to be paying attention to. The contest was called "Where in the world is goldmoney" hosted by @goldmatters. It was obvious that very few people had taken the time to read through the contest details. Though I was unsure if I could meet the requirements, the prize of the contest was 100 steem. I decided from the moment I saw it, that even if I couldn't qualify. I would do everything I could to support the contest.

DQmTcokkCFYsvvYcuxxsFToFnEhftEpGUwMRj7j9K4M86hX.jpeg

Eventually my participation in this contest earned me 90 sbd. I was on top of the world. This was better than winning any Lottery. You never forget the people that gave you a chance along your journey. @goldmatters was and still is one of my dearest associations in steemit.

At the time there weren't that many voting bots, and a @randowhale upvote was a sweet delicacy. I decided to share some of my newly acquired wealth, by dropping @randowhale upvotes on some of my biggest supporters and a few others in need. Then I continued on my quest for new contest. I was ready to conquer steemit. It was shortly after, that I ran into a contest offering whaleshare tokens as a prize. I had never heard of them, but I wasn't going to turn down a free token. Though I had no idea what tokens were. The only tokens I knew of were found in Magic the Gathering, and they were cards that represented a certain character types.

The contest was a selfie contest hosted by @thatindianlady, and included links to other post which described whaleshares in great detail. Here's an exert from a similar post created by @eirik that discribes Whaleshare tokens and the amazing community behind it.

"If you still don't know, the WhaleShares is a project from the @OfficialFuzzy – the cofounder of BitShares. WhaleShares is not just a token, but also a community of people.
These tokens have their own value. Their ability is that you can "convert" them to a whale vote to a post you choose.
1 WhaleShares token is 1% of the whale vote. This can help you massively. No more of being depressed after you spent days on your amazing post and nobody saw it. :)"

For more information here's the original post: STEEMGIG - A COMPLETE GUIDE ON HOW TO USE WHALESHARES!

Y en español escrito por @izaguirrejosel titulado GUIA DE CÓMO USAR WHALESHARES- VERSION ACTUALIZADA

Wanting to find out more about Whaleshares, I gave in, downloaded the Discord app, and joined the Whaleshares community: https://discord.gg/E9Rm9yT
It was through the Whaleshares community that I first discovered the Bitshares openledger. Originally I only used the platform solely to access my whaleshares tokens, but with time I realized how amazing the platform is. At first it took me a while to understand how to use it, but now I understand the benefits it offers is priceless.

The openledger was not the only blessing that came from joining the whaleshares community. It was my interaction with the Whaleshares community, that introduced me to the BeyondBitcoin project and it's community. I was invited by @krazykrista to attend the BeyondBitcoin EOS Talk. I had heard about EOS, but I really did not know anything about the project. After attending the BeyondBitcoin EOS Talk, I made the decision to invest in EOS. It was one of the best decisions I've ever made.

Beyondbitcoin offers the opportunity to associate with individuals directly involved in the industry. The information and perspective shared is invaluable. I follow their Channel on YouTube, and I'm never disappointed in what I learn from their talks.

You can follow @officialfuzzy and the beyondbitcoin project on Twitter at:
https://twitter.com/Beyond_Bitcoin?lang=en

Though I receive my first big break through a contest, it was the community that gave me a strong foundation to stand on. Life is so much easier with a community by your side.
Here are some communities that you will absolutely benefit from associating with:

Whaleshares Discord: https://discord.gg/E9Rm9yT

Minnowsupport project
https://discord.gg/7qBVZF

EOSTalk Discord: https://discord.gg/WaN27D2

Bitshares Discord: https://discord.gg/z2MSfWg

For the latest news and opportunities with EOS you can access the following the following EOS related Telegram groups:
https://t.me/eosproject,
https://t.me/eos_opportunities,
https://t.me/EOSDAC,
https://t.me/eoscode,
https://t.me/EOSCN,
and https://t.me/eostalk

I could never have imagined the blessings that would follow my decision to join Steemit. I've learned so much about myself and my talents in such a short amount of time. I can honestly say I look forward to what the future holds. Please take a moment to visit the communities listed in this post, and check out the information shared. You never know the doors that open for you when you associate with great people. Thanks for sharing with me and God bless.

Don't forget to check out The 2018 Resteem Bonanza contest. Earn free SBD while promote your work and helping others do the same.

Sort:  

Perfection is not attainable, but if we chase perfection we can catch excellence.

Thank you that's a good point:-)

This is very nice story a motivation story for me as a newbie here, thank you for sharing this with us.

that's cool I'm glad you liked it. Sometimes we learn from our own post, from reading this post I was surprised to see how one event led to another. Granted it to my story but I just never saw it that way.

Wow 90 sbd! You were really blessed, contest is very good for someone that make good effort and determine to succeed

Concerts are great because they benefit both the person hosting the contest and the people joining it. A good contest is win win.

Nice post great motivation story here, I pray my own own blessing will come some day

sometimes our blessing comes little by little so we don't even realize when it came. I think an important perspective on it, it's to remember to bless others. Sometimes we get so focused on battling our own problems, that we forget to help others. Helping others opens doors we could never have imagined.

Your struggle becomes a motivation for me and everyone

Well thank you, just as your success will be an inspiration to others.

You are welcome. May we be brothers

What a motivation for a day for me!

Well thank you. :)

I decided to share some of my newly acquired wealth, by dropping @randowhale upvotes on some of my biggest supporters and a few others in need.

Why aren't I surprised. As I said about you in my Whaleshares Community Challenge entry "he is just so genuine and caring." You are the best and deepest respect for you.

That's awesome thank you. I hadn't heard about that challenge. I appreciate that you would mention me. Thank you very much.

Thanks for the story and best wishes for the future dreamingirwin.

What thanks for taking the time to read it. Look forward to seeing you around. :)

I love how your adventure has been here in Steemit, at the beginning it happened to me like you with Steemit, first I went in and I left it, then I returned and now I am here all day haha and I imagine your happiness when you won 90 sbd You said better than any lottery haha, finally I'm left with this phrase "You never know the doors that open for you when you associate with great people." He is very right with what he says, when one is surrounded by great people, great things happen, Many blessings my friend! from Venezuela.

Thank you very much I appreciate that. I especially appreciate that you took the time to read it. Steemit can be an addiction I hope it brings you many and much success.

I'm not sure if you have but if you haven't Hope you join my contest. It's a pretty sweet prize and great Association.

I just saved it to see it later calmly, thank you very much for the invitation, I will be there and if everyone is like you, I do not doubt that it is a great association.

You've come a long way buddy, this is amazing and well I'm happy for you all round success

Thank you I appreciate that. I wish you much success also. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67621.06
ETH 3787.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50