You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Want to Put the Social Back Into the STEEM Social Media Platform?

in #community5 years ago

I am guilty of not engaging enough. I fall into the "not enough time" category, which I think of as partially legit and partially an excuse. I certainly could be squeezing in a few minutes here and there, and I think that is true for most of us. It just takes some motivation to use those couple of free minutes wisely.

I am blown away by the amount of weekly comments. Do people spend 8 hrs a day here? Or do they just read faster than I do, or skim posts, maybe just faster thinkers as far as what comment they leave? Lol. With the combo of my limited time and apparently sluggish browsing I am patting myself on the back for leaving 15 comments a day.

Sort:  

Hey, @ginnyannette.

I'm not sure how others do it. I know I spend quite a bit of time reading all of a post before deciding what I'm going to do with it, and there are times where the answer is nothing. So as far as engaging goes, I might like a post but have nothing to contribute. Happens more than I like to think about. :)

15 comments a day average gives you 105 comments. Depending on the other criteria being met, I think that's enough to get you on the list. :) This is just the Top 25. The list itself covers the Top 100 out of 500-ish members. I cropped it for space. The full list always appears on @abh12345's post each Sunday.

re: time

it's the biggest factor, and really, we can only do what we have time to do. I know there's plenty of people on this list who split their time doing many different things, but no matter how efficient you are, there's still going to be a set amount of time needed to it. And that's going to depend on who quick you think and type. :)

Really, this post was more to point out to folks who could do more, like me, but thought they were doing enough, that no, that's probably not the case. For those who are already pushing their limits, the intent was not to make anyone feel guilty. We can only do what we can do.

Regardless, I like seeing who's on the list and where, and obviously, where I place, too. The work necessary to get to the top most weeks is a lot, and the rewards, while very nice, aren't going to be the sole reason for doing it. Fortunately, I think there are more rewards to getting out there and engaging with others than just placing well in the leagues. I believe its helped my posts be noticed by a wider range of users, and I've met some really nice/good people, beyond where I would have naturally gravitated.

So, all kinds of free perks. :)

Talking is surprisingly addictive. I am not a social person, but I suppose it is human nature to get pleasure out of communicating. The more I do, the more I want to. Maybe if all the antisocial users such as myself pushed themselves to do 15 comments a day addiction would force us into more. That league could get really intense :)

I don’t know how some get so high with comments. LOL 😂
Time is a critical ingredient. I have the time but not the means , so it has to be a combination of things. But then again its not a competition to me.

Makes sense that it is a combination. Practice makes perfect I suppose, as far as speed of writing comments and finding the words. I imagine it is a great brain exercise to be reading, comprehending, and pushing out genuine words at a certain rate.

I take the approach that I am not in a competition.
I do have a lot of friends that I engage with and I have a good time doing so.

That certainly is the best way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57329.79
ETH 2914.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67