Glass Half Empty Or Half Full?

in #community5 years ago

Stop Me If You've Heard This One...

I have half a glass of water sitting on my patio table.

For most of my life, I've understood that if I look at that glass and see it as half full, that means I'm an optimist. If I look at it and think, "It's half empty," then I'm a pessimist. Since society likes it's labels or boxes, to one side or the other I go.

Nope. Given time to consider things, I've decided I no longer want to be pigeonholed one way or the other. Besides, when it comes to evaluating the situations in my life, are my only choices half full or half empty? No. Not really. Usually there's all kinds of data to analyze and draw from. Why shouldn't that half a glass of water be any different?

P1013779.jpg

Here's some information I think I should be considering:

How Big Is My Glass?

If it's a small jam jar I've washed and repurposed, maybe that's not a whole lot of water. But if I compare three other sizes of glasses up to that of a pitcher, half is a considerable amount. I might not even consider having a half pitcher of water a desirable thing. Or, because I'm really thirsty, maybe I do.

So, my assessment of half full or half empty is woefully incomplete if I don't also take in account how big my glass is.

P1013797.jpg

What's In My Glass?

Is it water, or is it orange juice, or maybe cranberry ginger ale? Depending on what it is, half a glass might be about all I want or can handle. Like orange juice. I like it, and I try to drink as much as I can, but seldom am I able to get through more than a small glass of it. Whereas with water, I could probably down two or three of those at any one time, and as far as the cranberry ginger ale goes, I'd probably end up drinking more of it than I should.

So, could I consider a half empty glass of orange juice a bad thing? Probably not. I'd probably be doing well to finish it off. A glass half filled with water? Depends on how thirsty I am, but I'd probably want more, and might even bump up to a bigger glass. The ginger ale is more of a no brainer, except for maybe the calories. I'm going to want more than half of a small jam jar.

P1013787.jpg

How Did We Arrive Here?

In the analogy, while it's probably left up to interpretation, a half empty/half full scenario presupposes that there's only a half a glass of beverage and that it's all downhill from there. So, I can either be happy and except it, look at the bright side, or I can cry over my half empty glass, because once the contents are gone, that's it.

But that's not how life is, is it? Over the duration of that glass, unless we're talking extreme circumstances that can't last for very long (one would die if all they had was a half glass of anything to nurse for an extended period of time), it's going to be filled and refilled many times. That's the beauty of a glass. It's not one and done. So, as I'm observing this half glass of liquid, where is it along this empty/full spectrum?

Maybe I've had an assortment of drinks from that glass, and now I'm down to half and I'm okay with it. Maybe even relieved, because I've overindulged. Or maybe I'd like to keep going but to do so would not be good for me. Or, maybe, it is truly the last half glass of (fill in the blank) I'm going to have for a while, and that makes me kind of sad.

Whatever the case, that glass will be refilled with something that I will be drinking. It didn't start out at half a glass, and it won't stay that way.

So, What's The Point?

Don't base your worldview on a half glass of water?

You can't be a pessimist solely based on seeing a half empty glass of water. Nor can you be an optimist. There's too many other things to consider.

In the end, most of us end up somewhere in between for most of the time, and ping pong between the two ends the rest of the time. It's called being human.

In my way of thinking, I'd rather avoid being wholly and optimist, and woefully a pessimist. Instead, I'd rather shoot for reality, and live there as much as I can.

So, I say, own the middle. Go halfway as it were. Be grateful for the half a glass. Prepare for the times the glass will actually be empty, and hope for the day the glass will be filled again. Then expect that it will probably end up at half and empty and need to be refilled again.

Now. Who's thirsty?

Sort:  

Hi glenalbrethsen,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Once again, thank you. I didn't know whether or not to expect seeing you folks again since I became a dolphin, but apparently, I'm still in the mix, and its greatly appreciated. Please keep up the good work.

I see an inefficient water containment system.
Your glass is twice as large as it needs to be ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, @bluerobo.

Time to get out the glass cutters! :) Maybe put a bottom on the top half. Then, maybe I wouldn't have to wash the one so much.

Or you can just be glad that you have a glass, and there is something in it. lol

So, true, @quotes-haven.

And you could also be mad that, even though you've personally done nothing to earn or deserve it, that there's only half a glass, the glass is small, and what's in the glass is not remotely what you want, and then go destroy the glass along with its contents.

As much as I believe there are many of us with the first attitude, I also know there are too many (one is more than enough) with the second.

Some of them seem to be running around here right now. :)

It goes on and on .... Or rather, it can go on and on. :-)

I know what is wrong with the OJ glass. It is just incomplete, it is neither half full nor half empty, it is simply waiting on the filler. It needs something to add some fizz, some spice, something to liven it up and take the tartness away or to add to the tartness. It needs to have some sprite poured into it. Kind of like life, a half full or a half empty life needs some fizz added every now and then.

So many variables, @bashadow. So many things to consider. So many flavors to recognize and appreciate. So many ways to jazz up your drink. :)

I almost poured in the cranberry ginger ale to see what that would taste like but backed off. I'm not wild enough for that, I'm afraid. :)

I like Cranberry and OJ mixed, it is not a bad blend at all, the ginger ale would take it a notch higher, all we have here is plain ginger ale. I like OJ, but cn never do very much either, so I blend it a lot.

Just like how people see the world. You are either good or bad. Either going to heaven or going to tell. Now we've realised there could be a lot of different shades of grey. Very insightful post, and I learnt a lot.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, thanks for that, @fredkese. :)

I just thought it's easy to get caught up in what's directly before us in the moment, when in many cases we should really be taking a step back, taking a deep breath, and attempt to see things the way they truly are.

Then, you can panic. Just kidding. :)

Such an awesome theory you got there. I have to also start checking my glasses to see how my relates with me.
A lot of great advices in there too

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, thank you, @ferrate.

I've been at that point in my life where I've been questioning all kinds of things, and trying to see through all the misinformation to find the truth behind it. So, this exercise was mainly me walking through a few possible ways to really assess the significance of the half glass of water and applying it to life. In the end, it is what it is, and then we need to determine what we're going to do about it.

Yea... That's true and it was worth it

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @glenalbrethsen! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 350 posts. Your next target is to reach 400 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I am a pessimistic. My glass is half empty. Woe is me, its gonna rain 🌧

It’s a part of a conversation that has been so simplified that it no longer makes sense on its own. And can only be understood if you have hair between the nuckles on your hand. You will not understand it if you looked.

You actually came to mind as I was writing this, @wolfhart. :) I was thinking, don't get too carried away here, because, yes the ends still do exist, where life either doesn't look good, or life is incredible, but even then, there's always another direction to go.

So, anyway, I'm not sure why I start dwelling on this half full half empty concept, but the more I did, the more it irked. It's like, does anyone even do that any more? Was it really ever a thing, or did they make it up to mess with our heads for a few generations.

There is good. There is bad. But there's also context, what we can do about it, and what we can't.

Its not asked to much lately because you would have to send a picture along with your text.

Life has its ups and downs. Enjoy the ups and put your big boy pants on for the down times. I think most of us are optimists. The pessimist are now placed on drugs.(depression)
Sigmund Freud Screwed it all up for everyone. He was taught in all the schools and worship. Everyone wanted to sound like an intellectual . Bunch of dumbasses if you ask me.

“Yes ends still exist, where life doesn’t look good.” Life and the things around us look different with a new perspective. It is actually pretty good. I am good,greatful and life is good :)

I think you are right @glenalbrethsen a half filled glass is both half full, and half empty.

And in most cases, an empty glass will be filled with something, some time in the future after it is emptied.

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Yep.

I suppose when we're young, and think everything good in our lives has to happen now, that we can look at the surface of things and make a judgment call. But really, that's not how life is. It's in a constant state of commotion, so limiting it to a snapshot in time is a big disservice. The whole concept of the half empty or half full glass is flawed from the start. So much more to living life and navigating through it. :)

I tend to think that over time, everything in life is bittersweet (i.e. a cup that's Half-empty & Half-full).

Sometimes the sweet part of something is over emphasized, and sometimes the bitter part is over emphasized, but given enough time, everything that is "Sweet", will eventually be followed by a bitter aftertaste - and visa-versa.

Now that I know this... I think I will do much better in life.

A lot of my earlier hardship in life was caused by chasing the sweet and expecting that I could get rid of the bitter aspects of life - doesn't work.

A balanced life that is bittersweet, is the best case scenerio in my opinion, and it's actually REAL!

I go more with Psalm 23:

"My cup runneth over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life."

Along the same lines, someone once told me I fart rainbows :)

"Be sure to fitinfun no matter what"
is my tagline, and it has not failed me yet.

I think all our cups runneth over, more than we know or care to admit at times, @fitnfun. Thank you for sharing the Psalm. :)

And I think the story behind that is, regardless of what is going on in our lives, even when things are not looking so great, there is goodness, there is mercy, and there is hope. So, what are we going to do with the hand that we're dealt? Aside from any blessings the Lord sees fit to bestow upon us (and it's so often more than we realize), we too need to be doing things to get us to the good times and through the bad times.

Aside from any blessings the Lord sees fit to bestow upon us (and it's so often more than we realize)

I think it is always more than we realize.

I have had poor health and a lot of near death experiences. I think every day I get to open my eyes and strive again is a blessing I do not take for granted.

Also - some times those "bad times" are "good times" in disguise :)

I'm glad I saw this post and it gives me a lot to think about.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90