My Son Got "Kidnapped"!

in #community6 years ago (edited)

When strangers start acting like neighbors, communities are reinvigorated. ~Ralph Nader
Source

Have a HappyHearts Day!.png
Created using Canva

Okay, I guess my title has "lured" you in. My son was and is alright, don't worry. He was not actually kidnapped, or so it was thought. This was a little encounter I had braving through a crowd of people in a night market, which I did not intend to get trapped in.

I was at my church camp in this beautiful city called Malacca, which is also a historical city in Malaysia. Tourists would flood this city from different countries and directions. They have this street where there are lots of goodies sold and it could be very congested during school holidays and weekends. My husband and I decided to join a bunch of younger friends for dinner one night out on a free-and-easy slot in our camp schedule. They were going to eat Nyonya (Straits-born Chinese who cooks awesome tasty food) cuisine. It was told to us the restaurant is only 1 km away from the hotel we were staying so we did not hesitate, even though my husband was supposed to get back by a certain hour to get to be in the worship team. We did not know that this shop is situated at one of the busiest places in Malacca, the famous Jonker Street and it was a Saturday.

It was difficult to get a good parking, thus we parked a little further and walked to the place. It was breezy and the sun was setting, hence it was a nice walk.

IMG_20180609_182915.jpg

IMG_20180609_182937.jpg

IMG_20180609_183227.jpg

There were many people in the restaurant, so we separated into 2 different tables. I sat with my husband and the worship team who were supposed to eat fast and go, so I told my other friends I would be following them with my son. The food was good and incredible.

IMG_20180609_191231.jpg
There are many Nyonya eateries in Melaka, but this is affordable and perhaps one of our favourites. This place is called Our Kitchen and it was our first time trying the food there.

IMG_20180609_183803.jpg
Entertaining ourselves because the food took quite a while to be served.

IMG_20180609_191753.jpg
Levi building his blocks while waiting.

After the food came, it was gone within minutes because we were hungry and the worship team guys needed to rush. We ate and paid and they were gone. I was still feeding and eating with Levi who was slower. Suddenly, I saw the guys we were supposed to be leaving with, rushed out of the restaurant, leaving me and Levi behind because they could have forgotten, though I was all ready and actually called after them. It is okay, because they were rushing too.

IMG_20180609_193618.jpg
The crowd was building up!

Thank God there was another bunch whom I know eating at the same place too. So, I just went with them to take a Grab car with them. Now the challenge was we were in the middle of the Jonker Street and we had to brave through the crowd to meet our Grab car driver at the entrance in 5 minutes and the driver would only give an allowance of another 5 extra minutes. That was nervous. My church friend, Saatish who is a strong bigger-sized Indian man offered to carried my son who is weighed 13 kg. Good thing Levi was okay to follow him. Then, we started our "amazing race". We braved through the congestion of people, finding routes and ways to walk faster and avoid crowds who stopped by to buy things. We walked as fast as we could, while I kept a close eye on Saatish and Levi, because I did not want Levi to feel insecure. Levi was enjoying himself, being carried while looking at the different things the night market was selling.

IMG_20180609_193928.jpg
Levi was being carried by Saatish, getting a higher view than slipping off my hands if I were to be carrying him in this crowd.

IMG_20180613_113737.jpg

There was a part where we got separated a bit by the crowd and I realized Saatish was slowed down. I waited at my spot for him to arrive. He then came and a few other strangers came along with him. They came to ask me, "Is this your son?" I said yes and they replied, "We were just scared, just in case." These were youngsters in their early 20s who wanted to protect Levi in case Saatish is a kidnapper. They asked him earlier because it was very distinct that Levi cannot be his son, since they have different skin complexion, obviously. Saatish did explained that he was helping a church friend carrying her son. They said, "It's okay, we will just follow you to meet your church friend."

We were really in a rush because our driver had arrived, or else I would love to take a photo with these kind strangers. I could not even converse long with them, but I said thank you. If there is by any chance you are reading this, thank you very much. I truly believe in the kindness of strangers.

As for Saatish, this is a trustworthy man. I am very appreciative of him. He did it without a single complaint and he enjoyed carrying Levi. He has been misunderstood much, but he still could laugh it off. He went to my husband and told him, "Hey, someone thought I kidnapped your son!" I do not know how I would be, without him because I would have been slowed down by carrying Levi. Thanks to Levi too who cooperated very well with us.


Sometimes, we talk about not trusting anyone in this world to be cautious. It is a relevant wisdom in this world. With all the scams, cheats and abductions going on, it is true it has put us on higher alert. However, on the other hand, there are still good and kind strangers to whom we can let our guards down. I love the community I am in, where we do look out for each other, whether we know the person or not!

So, my son is safe and sound, he did not get kidnapped! He was very well protected, even by kind strangers who do not know us!! The trust in humanity is restored! :)

Truly,

When strangers start acting like neighbors, communities are reinvigorated. ~Ralph Nader
Source

Do you have a story about kind strangers that you have personally encountered? Share with me!

RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

SB-Marvel-Family.gif
created by @zord189


Asapers.gif

20180516_002249_0001.png

sgg_footers9.png

Sort:  

i am the one who ask him to carry him. i wonder if i am the one who carry will the same thing happen .

Thanks for offering together with Saatish. I would wonder if you can hold him for so long though because Levi is really heavy for such a long distance. Saatish was holding him without complaint at all.

HAHAH You lured me with the title.

Your friend is a good sport.

Here in my city, we have so many parents with "mixed" kids, that sometimes you can't really tell who the kid belongs to.

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

What a great act of kindness and understanding by friends known and unknown! The quote is really apt in describing such scenario, may such alertness and kindness continue to expand in all directions!

The title caught me in for sure. Lol.

Ya, sometimes we still stereotype person, black is bad and white is good. This is really a not good circle for us to keep continue with this perseption.

Great post Connie.

God bless Levi and you and daNiel too, also the indian guy.

Congratulations friend, it is a very promising article, excellent story ... I feel terror if something happened to my baby.

Nice to see you here @saracampero

Wishing your baby is well and healthy.

Warms my heart reading this. Glad to know that strangers still do care for one another especially if it involve kids. Hope your friend Satish does not mind it too much. But then again some days when I happen to carry one of the kids and they are wailing and struggling, it does cross my mind if other would think that I am kidnapper 😂

My oldest took self-defense kid classes and they were taught to yell

"You are not my parent"

"You are not my parent"

As loud as they can. I think about that every time I am carrying a crying child.

Woah you scared me for a moment with your title! I'm glad your son is ok though. It can be scary when in crowded places with your kids. How lovely it is when strangers are kind and helpful. Lovely post, I really enjoyed it :-) xx

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by happycrazycon from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Your title made me nervous! I'm so relieved that Levi is ok....my gosh he is cute too!

I still believe in the kindness of strangers, and it's so nice to have proof with your post here :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91