KURE - A Community Platform and Curation Network Remedy for Steem!

in #community5 years ago (edited)

KURE is revived! After 2 years of having stopped my own communities project, I'm done waiting for Steemit Inc. to come out with their communities solution.

KURE also stands for Kindred United to Reward Everyone. The logo design is in the shape of a caduceus staff, the symbol of medicine. It fits with cure/kure, curation, and was intended to be a remedy to aid in manual curation on Steem. The logo is mostly made from the Steem symbol itself, if you didn't notice ;)

I was developing a community-oriented website in late December 2016, with a first github commit on December 22, 2016! This is before Steemit Inc. announced their communities development plans or framework. I was ahead of the game.

In February 2017 I killed the project formerly known as SteemKURE because Steemit Inc. was "supposedly" going to be developing communities. I didn't want to waste my time making something that was going to be supplanted by an official version on the flagship front-end of Steemit.com. Who would use my app when Steemit Inc. had their own?

People told me I should have just kept developing it, because "who knows when Steemit Inc. will actually have it ready". I should have listened to them! Doh! With 2 years into the project things would have been quite far ahead by now.

The previous site was up with basic functionality for use, with a focus on helping manual curation efforts.

  • Login through SteemConnect Version 1 (it had just recently come out)
  • Creating a curation community/group/list
  • Adding a post to a curation community
  • Managing a community
    • Removing posts
    • Adding users
    • Removing users
  • User roles
    • Owner
    • Moderator
    • Submitter

Here is a video I made on February 1, 2017, which showcases what it was able to do at the time:

The data wasn't on the blockchain though, it was in a database I was hosting. But it did many of the things that Steemit Inc. later submitted in their Communities spec, although for curation alone, not for posting content like Steemit Inc. was/is planning.

The former SteemKURE was developed in PHP and Javascript for the core functionality. This time around, KURE is in Javascipt alone, using Node and React. I had to learn more before getting started again, but it's progressing now.

The Likes and Views would be based on the platform stats, not the blockchain. That way the popularity and metrics are based on the curation community activity itself, not on the blockchain activity where bots are fudging an honest measure of the data.

I plan on adding the data for the communities to the blockchain via custom_json fields. And of course images, and more! It's starting off as a curation platform for communities to form around, and then will move on to authoring posts within a community framework.

I hope you like what I'm doing so far :) Feel free to make suggestions, what you like/don't like.

Please consider supporting my efforts by spreading the word, upvoting and all that jazz. You can also vote for me as a Steem witness, which would be much appreciated as well :)

Stay tuned, more to come!


Thank you for your time and attention. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


Like what I do? Then consider giving me a vote on the Witness page :) Thanks!

My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page.

Sort:  

Wow, I had no idea you were working on this. Very interesting.

Many have been calling out for the ability to interact with non-stake-based content sorting. (awkwardly stated)

Anyway, I will check it out, but your post makes another good point as well, in that it is hard on any given day to know where SteemIt, Inc is headed.

Yeah, it will be about human evaluation, and not based on wallet size ;) Although to get rewards, it's still all stake based on the blockchain lol.

can't we make steemit2.com ?

I will need to digest this a little more. When you say that it allows communities to add users, is this suggesting that it would segregate somehow from the chain and not allow non community members to vote/comment or downvote/flag if they aren't part of that community?

So your account exists on the chain but to join a community, someone owns it who created it, and then can decide who can join or be removed. Anyone could apply to join. Anyone can vote on the content, but only members can post. Non-members could suggest posts to add by submitting them for approval by mods, but on submitters/contributers that are Members could add posts they want to the groups. The goal is to help network manual real human curation, and anyone could find content to support, even if they aren't part of the community. Thanks for the inquiry :)

Hey, @krnel.

I remember you mentioning something about this a while back and that you had decided you weren't going to wait around any longer to bring it back. I'm glad to see you working on it.

It's not like having a couple of places to form communities is going to hurt anyone, if/when Steemit does anything. I wouldn't kick yourself for not moving forward. There's generally a reason for why things like that happen, and regardless, you have more knowledge now about things and perhaps an even clearer vision of where things could/should go.

I took 18 months to hop on STEEM. I spent a good portion of last year bouncing between wishing I had started sooner and being glad I didn't. Since wishing I had was based mostly on not getting STEEM at cheaper prices, I've remedied most of that thanks to the bear market, and now am glad I'm still on STEEM, waiting for the bulls to show up.

So, silver linings all around, and I wish you well with this endeavor.

I don't see a link so I'm correct in thinking there's nowhere to really to go just yet, right? Do you have any timeframes or benchmarks you're trying to reach for an unveiling or even a launch?

Thank you :) It's not ready yet, no ;) I hope to have something to use at end of January.

Curated for #informationwar (by @Gregorypatrick)

Ways you can help the @informationwar!

  • Upvote this comment or Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP or Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

FreezePeach

If you feel you've been wrongly flagged, check out @freezepeach, the flag abuse neutralizer. See the intro post for more details, or join the discord server.

Thanks for the support.

This sounds very exciting my friend! Didn't know you were a witness; that's remedied now (voted) 😉 Looking forward for things to come 😊

Thanks for the support :)

isnt it weird how you can go back to an old project and revive it just like that? I need to do the same.

It's good, more than weird ;). Wish I hadn't of stopped it long ago ... :/

That is awesome! It would have been great if you kept working on the communities, but now you learned something right?
I wish I had that ability you got!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I wish I didn't kill it then... it would be a great tool now :/

@krnel, at the moment, I don't understand very well this project, probably, because I am not a tech geek. Later I will re-read this post again and again. But, anyway, I am sure your idea is great and I wish you good luck in your undertaking. And, I am sure if you implement your idea all of us (the Steemians) will benefit.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's for curating groups/communities to organize and share content and support it. Thats part 1. Then part two will be communities to post into with new posts being created from there.

Hey, this looks great. Would love to discuss about incorporating this type of functionality into the projects that I'm working on (community based as well).

Posted using Partiko Android

Maybe that could happen, not sure. But I want to get it out on my app and build something of my own, that's for sure. Not have my plan or work overtaken by another project ;)

Awesome and resteemed :-)

Thanks for the support :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58