You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to keep the fire burning...

in #community7 years ago

Motivation always comes from rewards whether those stem from one's financial, social or intellectual capital. You are at a certain wavelength in your life right now that you have all three going on.

We can't be motivated all the time because life entails change — and this is exactly what keeps us going. If everything was the same all the time, then nothing will ever exist.

Sort:  

I do agree but I also want to say that this is not all the time true.
Stephen King used to say that he's daily at his desk writing from 10 a.m to 3 p.m.
EVERY DAY.
He says he doesn't believe in inspiration but hard work but if inspiration WANTS to find him, it should be easy :) I like this logic.
For me, writing is about making a commitment to myself to write daily. I can't just phone it in...
It's less about motivation but habit and discipline and that's the whole point. You will have allies and good circumstances...for a while! But in the end, the habit will win out..if you don't have the habit when motvation flies away, you'll stop writing. Or, I WILL.

So, I guess, I think a certain habit is a way to keep going when faced with change. Or else, you'll never achieve anything!

I do agree but I think for him writing was more like breathing. If you have to tell yourself to "commit", you are losing the whole point and still have way ahead to go.

same applies to exercise. if you find yourself being pushed to go to the gym then sooner or later you will be fucked. same applies to everything really.

remember back in the day how many people where getting massive rewards in here and were writing motivational posts about how it changed their life, inspiring others yada yada yada?

price tanked and all got the fuck out. :)

price was a great motivator.
but that's one of the reason I always appreciated you and are included in this list i hope you realize.
and the fact that robinhood design is still amazing to me! Loved it then, love it now.

:)

Well, when you love reading, writing (and in my case debating) price becomes irrelevant!

glad to have you around too man.

(Although at some point we have to debunk the Warren Buffet meme)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69384.74
ETH 3631.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19