My special friendship from 7th grade

in #community7 years ago

Although we had been living in the same apartment building, we first met as a homeroom class partner. We always sat together, ate together, and learned together.

Jieun had autism and didn’t talk much. Her face was always stiff, like the wall of a stony mountain, and she never cracked a smile.

It was the second week of our first semester when all of us were busy signing up for the after-school club activities. Not one club wanted her to join. I saw how everyone tried to avoid her, and it broke my heart.

I began to try to figure out what she was interested in, or even better, what she loved. Since she didn’t talk, I decided to make 500 name cards with names of random things written on them: cars, colors, movie titles...etc

She picked up 4 cards: “Camera,” “Star Wars,” “Samsung” and “Taylor Swift.” A lightbulb turned on in my head. I grabbed her hand, ran to the teacher’s room and asked if she could join the filmmaking club as a film editor.

“No. She has to join other clubs that are not full,” Ms. Kim said.

I asked Jieun to wait outside and told Ms. Kim the whole story. I opened the door, looked at Jieun’s nervous eyes, and said “Hello, my fellow editor.”

That was the first time I saw her smile. Since then we became even closer and our friendship continued after our graduation. And, I believe it will be a long, beautiful friendship.

Sort:  

Wellcome to Steemit.com

Goodluck here

Welcome to steemit

Welcome @Madisonpark to Steemit :) . I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Welcome! Hope you enjoy Steemit! It is a great community to meet people from all over the world. @madisonpark

Hello @madisonpark. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93