You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tonight I'm hosting a workshop in my hometown for 'Music + Crypto'! I'd love your input.

in #community6 years ago

Great article man and thanks for the mention on the silly little meme too!

I understand where you're coming from with regards to feeling like crypto is a self-serving thing but I have a slightly different way of looking at it. If you truly want to earn a living from making music then there's no harm in doing what you can and use whatever platforms you need to get to that dream. But obviously, don't go around posting "Listen to my tracks on xyz because I'll get paid for it"... doesn't give the right message!

As for sharing experience - I really like Steemit, it's revitalised a love I have for writing blogs and just having something that seems a little more interactive than the conventional platforms. Although it does have a long way to go to get huge adoption, as do all the new crypto platforms out there.

I have invested in crypto, it was my decision and I chose an amount that I wouldn't go over, paying for it now since we're in a sh*t storm but it doesn't phase me as I won't be spending any more!

Personally, I'm as much of a fan as I am a musician and I have always liked commenting on people's posts whether they are full on monologues or little sprinkles of positive dust for the producer to go back with after reading it. I like hearing new music and if it's really well produced, even better but my advice is always, if you make a track from the heart and complete projects, you will be in a far better place in your music journey than if you just did what everyone else was doing and not finishing things.

I hope the workshop goes well :)

Sort:  

Haha of course dude, I love those meme's you've made.

My wording was a little off lol, but I kinda meant not that crypto is inherently self-serving in itself, but more so that I kinda kept it to myself, as Steemit was kind of my safe haven for posting and sharing things that maybe I didn't want seen by others. Not that I was posting anything bad or out of character, but it was nice to kind of have that separation, rightly or wrongly. When in reality if I believe in an avenue's potential to be fun, lucrative, and positive (which I definitely do), I feel like I should share it with people who don't know about it yet.

I'll definitely throw this out there in the workshop, really appreciate the input dude!

I see what you mean and yes, I am like that as well, I haven't really posted much about the crypto sites on the mainstream social media platforms as I'm worried about the image but then, I've created the Bluffer's Guide to Cryptocurrency to get people in to the space so seems counter intuitive to only post those blogs on Steemit haha!

I think it's an exciting time to be involved with it all although I'm starting to feel the effect of having SO many platforms to choose from, makes it harder but that's where you choose the one or two platforms that resonate with you and stick to them.

Would like to know how you get on in the workshop later :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87