How I got pregnant at 17 and made it to Varsity (part 2)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #community6 years ago

Part 2 of how I got pregnant at 17. It's advisable that you read my first blog to get the whole point of this blog.

birth-2025603__480.png

We had to leave the following morning to ondangwa since it was back to school time. I could tell that something was wrong. Everything felt so wrong and I regret every moment. I got in ondangwa met up with my school mate whom I trusted so much. I told her everything that happened and didn't believe me when I told her I was pregnant.

February came, signs of tender breasts were there but the tricky thing was me bleeding. I was very much confused. Little did I know that it wasnt normal bledding but I was actually spotting. I then received a phone call. It was my mother, telling me that shes traveling home because her sister just passed on. My favorite fashionable aunty was nomore. It was too much to handle. I decided to travel too, not because I was going to my aunty's burial but just because I knew I had an opportunity to see my baby daddy AGAIN. He was the first person I called on my arrival. We met half way as usual. The first question he asked when he saw me was "are you PREGNANT, why are your boobs getting bigger" I was like I don't know but the possibilities are THERE. That was the last time I saw him.

I traveled back after the burial and April holiday came. I went to the city to visit my mum. She then immediately noticed I was pregnant and asked if I wanted to go back to school or look for tutors and stay in Windhoek with her. I chose not to go back to school. I was being tutored at home. My final exam was approaching, so was my delivery month. Yeses! it was two in one.

Writing exams while pregnant
I wrote a module (subject) in two days. It had paper 1 and 2. The first paper was written on the 7th whereas my second paper was on the 8th. It was Biology for that matter. So I got home safely after my biology paper 2. I started cooking for the family that and out of the blue, my contractions started. Do you see how lucky I was? Could it have started while I was in the exam hall, it was going to be a disaster. I was taken to the hospital around 10 P. M. And delivered on the 9th. It was a baby girl. I was so happy. I stayed in the hospital for two days and got discharged on a Saturday. I got my mother home, she actually traveled from Windhoek to ondangwa, little did I know that she was coming to get my baby from me since I was not done with my exams yet. On a Monday morning, I woke up early as usual, prepared and went for my physical science exams. It's the very same day that my mother and my three days old traveled back to Windhoek. I remained behind and followed them immediately when I finished my exams.

Results announcement
My results came the following year (2010) and I was very much disappointed. It was a fail, I got 21 points in five subjects. The passing rate was atleast getting 25 points in 5 subjects. I didn't give up, I decided to upgrade my points and it took me two years

Varsity, finally. Yeppy

graduation-303565_1280.png

Since it took me two years to qualify for varsity. I was so happy when I registered with the university of Namibia. This was in 2012 when I enrolled for a diploma in Natural Resource Management and graduated with upper second in 2014.

I thought I was too young to end there. In 2015, I enrolled with the same university. It was within the same faculty (Agriculture) but I decided to do Food Science and Technology and graduated early 2018 with upper second still. My teenage pregnancy took me alot and pushed me this far. I was doing all this for her.

Lesson to take from this blog
Mistakes happen on a daily basis. Let what ever you are going through be a lesson. Do not give up on your dreams just because you got pregnant at 14. There are alot of opportunities waiting for you to step out of your comfort zone. Lastly always pray for guidance and strength, this is how I made it to where I am today.

Always remember this
You are strong
You are a fighter
You are an overcomer
Your a dream chaser

I hope one or two people will learn a thing from this post.

Oh, one important thing I forgot to mention, after all that happened. My baby Dady didn't acknowledge my child. He claims that he's not the father. I came to terms with this and were are happy. She's grown and doing so well in school.

Sort:  

nice post 👍👍👌👌
pleassss upvt to upvt
@shailesh1

Loading...

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

Your a dream chaser.
It should be you're a instead of your a.

Thank you for the correction @grammarnazi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59