You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Want to Put the Social Back Into the STEEM Social Media Platform?

I never found interest in it, for a couple of reasons. The first being, once i am out of the votes I can spare, I am done for the night. Occasionally I will still dip into the 70% range of voting power, but rarely now as i have disciplined myself. I also never leave dust votes. I rented delegation until I could solve that on my own. If I vote for someone words, I want it to benefit them, want to see them have the potential to grow. I say potential because many cash out constantly. I tend to vote less for those people over time though.

The second reason which is just as powerful as the first is

People Only Comment To Comment

I have had a few people from this contest (that rank high in it) do this to me a few times, and watched on others I follows posts. Nothing really to contribute other than "hi, I was here,bye." I hate that small talk with no energy in my physical world and do not have time for it here either. Time is precious and to spend time doing it day in day out makes me wonder if these people understand the precious commodity they are trading (their limited moments) all in a bid to rank in a contest or to get awarded .01-.03 Steem. Just doesn't make sense. Not sure why they don't focus on actually building something with the people they are interacting with, since they are passing by that way anyway. Maybe it means they don't rank high in the contest, but a few real connections are worth way more than hundreds of interactions where everyone parts still a ghost to one another.

We began interacting here before you joined this league, not long after I joined the site. I am happy that this league gave you a reason to stick around, and your presence in it helps to counteract the members who resemble what I outlined above.

Sort:  

Hey, @practicalthought.

Yeah. Obviously, things aren't perfect anywhere and the league is no exception. By and large, though, I think it's one of the more active communities that are least trying to do more, if not succeeding at it. The idea or concept is awesome, but the execution of it can always be better. I think people believe the number of comments has more to do with than it does, or they'd pay less attention to how many they can do and spend more time saying something.

I haven't been very thrilled with the character per comment count a lot of people do, but then, filling a comment with nonsense isn't the way to go either, so somewhere there needs to be that happy medium where enough is being said to be meaningful.

Either way, it's a large time investment and those who do that tend to fall off over time, so we'll see.

re: votes.

I pretty much keep my upvotes close to 85% for the most part. Sometimes lower since I don't STEEM on Sundays, so I'll extend it beyond that. It just means I'm spreading the upvote around a little more, and since a lot of it happens on comments, and above the dust threshold, my voting power an go pretty quickly.

Again, you can upvote just to upvote, a shotgun approach to curation, or you can be strategic, knowing you're never going to give out what you think a post really deserves, or you can just try to help as many people as you can. That seems to be the way most people do it. I only upvote what I think should be upvoted, and I do it with what I have available in mind, and what's already on the post. Some really don't need more, I think, and others could use more than I can give. It's what we all run up against.

Okay, the majority of us. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67