You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Goals to Reach by June 14th 2019, Our 1 Year Account Anniversary

in #community5 years ago (edited)

Respectable and reasonable goals @pifc / @thedarkhorse. Doing my small part "behind the scenes," to help you meet them:

  • Goal 1
    Already following @pifc with autovotes. Have you ever considered setting up a curation trail for @pifc?

  • Goal 2
    Purchased 10 SBI shares. If possible, hopefully you can upvote comments, as well as posts, as I don't post as frequently as others. As far as I am aware, the benefit of upvotes on comments vs. posts is the same.

  • Goal 3
    Increased my delegation to 250 SP.

Great to have goals and objectives. All the best to the Pay-It-Forward Community moving forward, hopefully into a future where STEEM has much greater value than it does today. 👍

Now ... Back to working on our family taxes and the "nightmare" ... 😧 ... of getting all of our "crypto" transactions properly accounted for ... 😞

Sort:  

First off thank you very much! This is a huge help and really appreciate all of your support.

As for the curation trail, yes I do have an account set up for it and almost put it in motion. My issue is that I'm worried that people will switch into a set it and forget it mentality and stop visiting the entries. I'm really happy seeing comments from people that mention they came to via the Curation Contest to the featured bloggers.

Also was having a hard time deciding how it would be used. Do we use it to upvote featured bloggers, use it for those who make an entry, both entries and featured bloggers, or is it used just to support community members on all of their posts? So many options on this...maybe I'm just over thinking it...lol.

For your upvotes I'm all for voting on comments. 5 of the 10 are done and I'll knock out the other 5 tomorrow when I wake up. Think my VP should be recovered by then. As for the benefit, yes it's the same to you as a comment or post is really the same thing in the eyes of steem.

Yes, I understand @thedarkhorse ...

"My issue is that I'm worried that people will switch into a set it and forget it mentality and stop visiting the entries. I'm really happy seeing comments from people that mention they came to via the Curation Contest to the featured bloggers."

[emphasis mine]

... as that "danger" exists. However, I would suggest the possibility of thinking of it more as a "better than nothing" option vs. an "all or nothing" option. In other words, if people don't have the time (like me ...) to always go an read every post, comment on it, etc., is it still better that at least their financial support is in place vs. nothing at all?

You presumably want to steadily grow to reaching the impact of a @curie vote, for example. Hard for me to imagine those who support that trail financially are also reading through and commenting on every single post they reward. Our good PIFC friend, @insight-out, just won her latest award from @curie. Perhaps she'd care to "weigh in" on this ...

When saying that, I am thinking of the recent success of the @tenkminnow account. Hard to imagine those who supported that account's curation trail also all visited every single supported account's posts etc. They did what they could, with the time available ...

That said, it is certainly "your" community @thedarkhorse and I am very clear that having different priorities, points of view, etc. are good overall for our Steem blockchain. Then people have options to educate themselves on and pick which one(s) [community(s)] works best for them.

One last thing, my personal preference is to get as much done as possible with one account, i.e. the @pifc account. The more our efforts and attention are split across multiple accounts, the more "dilution" there is in people's understanding, support, etc. So ... I was asking specifically about the @pifc account itself being set up with a curation trail ...

Okay, that's enough out of me, for the moment. I think the last thing I'll do is tag my Steemian friends @newageinv and @macoolette to consider investing their time to come and take a look at your one-year goals. To see if they may choose to also participate in some way ...

Have a great day!

Thanks for inviting me into the conversation, @roleerob!

Although, I am not sure that I understand the issue right. What voting trial means? Does it mean that people set an auto-vote for the @pifc account?

I guess I have a slightly different observation on the goals set. As I see, the goals for June are aiming to grow the account's SP and to make its vote more powerful. Which is great! In that way, the auto-votes could only do good.

But, on the other hand, if I understand it right, @thedarkhorse sees the Pay It Forward Contest as more about the person-to-person interaction, rather than the auto-votes. So, there is something missing here. There are goals on the SP growth (where the auto-votes will only help), but there are no goals set on the community and interaction growth (where the auto-votes will be harmful).

So, there are no goals that are set towards the development of the community, although the community is something that lays in the Pay It Forward Core. Maybe, we should think about that, too? Because, as I see it, if it is all about how strong vote (how much SP) the @pifc account has, the auto votes are only going to do good. BUT, if there are also goals about people interacting with each other and the growth of the community, then there should be also some encouragement on that, too (e.g. best comment award, etc). In that way, auto-votes will not "steal the soul" of the contest, IMO.

So, the question is, what we, as a community, want to accomplish? Be more recognizable? Interact more? Attract more participants? Support others in more ways?

There are so many directions the community goals can go. But, as @roleerob said, @thedarkhorse is the founder of the contest.

So what's your vision about the community, @thedarkhorse?

I hope I don't intrude with my suggestions! And I hope this is helpful!

Thank you for your very thought out comment. The idea of goals related engagement would be great and something I had considered, but I had no idea how to track it. My thought was to write another post asking the community how we can encourage more engagement in a couple days. I try to limit @pifc's posting to 1 time per day to avoid draining anyone's VP who has us set on an autovote and 3 days in a row are fixed posts with contest related posts.

So we are on the same page with the need for community related goals. Just have no idea what they should be or how to track them in a way that doesn't become so time consuming that this becomes overwhelming. I need ideas from the community and wanted the post related to it to be clearly about just that need, not mixed with the goals set here for the "business" end of the community.

in a way that doesn't become so time consuming that this becomes overwhelming.

Yes, this is extremely important. Otherwise, all the fun will go away and sooner or later the contest will become a burden.

I am pretty sure that the community will come up with many ideas, so let's see what suggestions that post that you are planning will accumulate.

Your points are well taken. I will talk about it with the judges for sure.

The one thing I'm pretty set on is the idea of a curation trail for the curation contest that doesn't cover everything. IMO the Pimp My Post votes don't need the curation trail. When I find a we have to much VP and nothing to vote on and I cast a few votes for SBI to help increase our incoming votes vs wasting the VP and sitting at 100%. So by having a pifc trail account people know that they are voting just on the curation contest.

In the interest of time, I’ll reply to both of your comments here @thedarkhorse / @insight-out.

First, to @thedarkhorse, I understand what you are saying about a separate “curation only” trail. So … I grudgingly accept that I suppose, as it takes into account a limitation of the design of the Steem blockchain overall. And, at the same time, the way in which you personally want to / have chosen to manage the main @pifc account … I still believe, though, the “average Steemian” would find a single account simpler to understand and follow …

A “curation trail” @insight-out, is more than simply setting up an auto-vote. An auto-vote allows you to make sure any post from the “auto-voted account” is going to have support from you, whether you have the time to actually go read and comment on the post. Or not …

A “curation trail” takes this idea to another level, whereby you are also then auto-voting on any account the “curation trail” account is voting on, i.e. that they are "curating." By so doing, we are making it possible for others to increase the value of earning the support of the “main” account. My referenced example is the well-known @curie account. Throwing his support “behind” the efforts of the @curie team is a “whale” like @hendrickdegrote, who has elected to auto-vote the @curie “curation trail” … Hope that helps.

That said, @insight-out, great input on the overall “vision” of the PIFC community “core,” etc. No question the ideal is to obtain both the financial support of other accounts, as well as investment of their time to write meaningful comments on posts / other comments (see the CEL weekly post, for a great illustration) ... We’ll see what @thedarkhorse has to say, although he rightly is also gathering input from the judges, without whose support the “vision” begins to fall down. It’s a “team effort” …

Great exchange that, for me, highlights the fascinating potential of the Steem blockchain. When we start mixing the nobler aspects of human relations with financial incentives / motivation, well … You never know where we might end up … 😉

On into my day. Have a great one “over there!” 😊

although he rightly is also gathering input from the judges, without whose support the “vision” begins to fall down. It’s a “team effort” …

So very true. The Judges put in effort with no promise of anything in return. They are truly giving freely and the last thing I'd want to do is alienate any of them by going a direction that upsets anyone without them having a voice in it before the changes are made. Much better that everyone has ownership of the direction of things. I also answered insight-out which you may want to read.

@roleerob all 10 votes have been made. Thank you for the SBI shares for PIFC!

Nice job @rolerob! You have encouraged me to do the same!

Auto upvotes and 250 SP delegated!

👍🤗💥

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88