You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ancient Practice of Gleaning

in #community5 years ago

This is a beautiful post - your story was captivating and your images stimulating! I am biased already in that I love gleaning, especially from farms and gardens, and also from our grocery stores. I've worked for several homesteaders that have set up gleaning relationships with local stores and restaurants that significantly contribute to their family's diet as well as their livestock. I suppose my favorite place to glean is in nature and this year I gleaned some excellent food (also including blackberries) and seeds to bring back into my garden to encourage wild foods :) I really love your article and I hope it encourages more people to learn how to glean. There is really no reason not too, the only things holding us back from gleaning is our culture and our minds - but you astutely observed that gleaning is natural, this is the way nature works - zero waste. Thanks for sharing your passion and encouraging others to look at our food and nature through a new lens!

btw, I see that you are new to steem and I've gone ahead and delegated some Steem Power to you from our community account @homesteaderscoop to help you have more mana while you are building your account. I hope it helps!


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Sort:  

Thanks so much for doing your part in living in balance with the earth! I look forward to learning more about your homesteaders co-op. Thanks for the stream power!

You are very welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62877.62
ETH 3140.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89