Writcoin Dapp - Creative Blockchain Solutions

in #community6 years ago

raj808_thumb2.png

This article by @raj808 is part of a creative blockchain investigation series. Learn more about the #dappexplorer project here.


Writcoin Dapp Presentation - Creativity Powered by Blockchain

The Writcoin smart media token was inspired by one of the sndbox weekly questions which asked us to imagine what our SMT could look like. It was pitched as very much a theoretical excersie but as I wrote the post I became fascinated with the possibilities of my idea. To read more about the inception of my SMT idea please follow the link to this post.
 
To summarize Writcoin, it will be both a community and an SMT which helps build value for that community. The community will be focused on the creative writers (poetry & fiction) of steemit. The SMT will be used as a mechanism to forge partnerships with mainstream publishing and create value for stakeholders. Finally the Dapp will provide an easy solution for posting across many platforms while addressing issues around first publishing rights.
 

Please CLICK the title image below to read the presentation...

 


This presentation is meant as a theoretical pitch to investors and should be considered a first draft in explaining the dapp element of this idea. However, I am keen to develop this concept and am very interested in speaking to anyone with blockchain/dapp development knowledge. I shall be seeking guidance for this project at Steem Fest 3 and hopefully will be able to make it a reality.
 


Many Thanks for Reading



This post was authored by @raj808, a member of the sndbox incubator. Learn more, follow @raj808 or begin a conversation in the comment section below.


Footer_raj808.png


Empower artists, writers, musicians, non-profits and community initiatives - delegate Steem Power to @sndbox (using the links below) or follow our curation trail. Learn more about Sndbox - watch our introduction, here.

arrow-01.png
arrow-02.png
arrow-03.png
arrow-04.png
arrow-05.png
arrow-06.png
arrow-07.png
100
250
500
1k
2k
5k
10k
Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and our magazine The Creative Crypto / @creativecrypto

---

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://sndbox.blog/writcoin-dapp-creative-blockchain-solutions/
Sort:  

A community and assist token for creative writers is an awesome idea. I also like the ability for it to be used across different chains. I would definitely love to be a part of a such a project.

What I wonder is, (do not mind my ignorance) as a crosschain token does that mean that it would have to be based off a different chain from steem? Would it be an erc20 token or a bitshares token? I am curious about that.

Great stuff @raj808

Hi @warpedpoetic

Glad to see you're interested in this community/SMT idea as you are one of the people who I thought might be able to help assess authors, as well as being a great (and under-rewarded) author who would/could benefit from community support on their posts as well.

I haven't ironed out all the mechanisms, and part of my reasons for going to steemfest 3, is to talk to trust worthy developers/coders about the feasibility of my ideas from a blockchain perspective. Also, to network this idea.

To answer your question:

It will run off the steem blockchain. SMT's will be like an erc20 token but on the steem blockchain.

and to elaborate further:

The idea is that there will be a huge chunk of Steempower in the community steemit account (partly from proportional registration delegation from all community members and from whale/Orca/Dolphin support) for rewarding competent through to professional level creative writing with votes. There are a few excellent communities already in existence which help people with workshops, to help them improve their fiction/poetry which is great and I'll be looking at how this can idea can be inclusive of all communities. However, the problem that concerns me, and I want to address with Writcoin, is the relatively low payouts creative writing receives on steemit across the board. I have read some blog posts questioning the value and place of poetry/fiction on steemit.

Quite honestly this view point is flat out wrong.

High quality creative writing, especially when backed up with partnerships with other online publishing entities will only bring good attention (mainstream press) for steemit, a platform which is woefully lacking in focused marketing on a global scale. I will be approaching literary journals with an idea to help mitigate against the 'first publishing' issues which they all struggle with accepting doesn't need to be a problem. A Writcoin SMT can provide solutions to the revenue that they might lose from online advertising when they accept/publish submission that have been put up on steemit first with the addendum that I mentioned in the presentation. This idea is workable if I can figure out a way to boil down the concept of an SMT with simple provable facts and figures showing how everyone can benefit (financially) from this model. This is a presentation that will have to wait until I have spoken to people who know more than me about the technical aspects of SMT's, ha ha, I need someone to boil it down for me before I get my marketing head on and fire up PowerPoint. The whole thing is sort of like future proofing steemit for the publishing industry before mass adoption 🤞

Anyway, I hope this hasn't just raised more questions in your mind 😉 I feel like dreaming big is essential for building projects that will have lasting impact and reach beyond steemit. After all, if the majority of what is written (and rewarded) on steemit... is articles about steemit we will disappear up our own backsides. Lets wrap this up with an inspirational quote from one of my favorite authors, not known for his positive outlook. 😂

The unreal is more powerful than the real, because nothing is as perfect as you can imagine it, because it's only intangible ideas, concepts, beliefs, fantasies that last. Stone crumbles, wood rots. People, well, they die. But things as fragile as a thought, a dream, a legend, they can go on and on.

Chuck Palahniuk

Thanks for your thought provoking comment

Oh I really like this idea. And you are correct about creative writers getting low rewards on steemit. If not for curie, ocd, sndbox and some other projects I doubt if they would be creative writers left on the chain.

As to linking in literary journals to steemit contest, that is just fantastic. Many times, due to the kind of rewards content sometimes get on this platform, really great creatives lose the excitement and love for writing and soon they either away. If they have access to literary journals, their great pieces would find a voice outside the platform. It would be good for the platform, for creatives and for literary journals as well. The journals can do well without the advertising space.

Creative writers can test their mettle outside steemit and see if they have grown. Prizes and contests like the Sillerman prize, commonwealth prize, etc can get fresh voices participating. It is just healthy for literature, writing and the blockchain technology as related to content creation.

I am in @raj808.

The technical aspects of what you describe would overwhelm me, but I know there are resources here, savvy people who can overcome these hurdles. The creative writing aspect is intriguing. As I roam about the platform I run into a variety of talented writers, some of them quite young, some seasoned. These writers are eager to find more outlets. I hope your plan comes to fruition--a writing laboratory on Steemit with commercial potential.

you might want to to talk to the folks at @thewritersblock who not only will have an SMT but also a publishing house along with a dedicated frontend called Wordrow

Thanks for the shout out @shadowspub I will certainly be chatting to all steemit creative writing communities and networking at steemfest 3 where I know some TWB people are attending.

With every project I read about I'm more and more eager for the launch of SMTs, the whole ecosystem will become unrecognizable. And even though the emphasis will be on entrepreneurs I want to see writing and blogging become more successful on this platform.

Yeah I agree with a lot of what your saying @calatorulmiop

I honestly think that the SMT mechanism can be used to bring about a fairer reward structure. I'm sure that many different community SMT's will pop up around genres/tags of writing/vlogging/blogging etc that will start to reward quality proportionally. This is the only fair and sustainable model in my opinion. I am simply focusing on creative writing because it is what I know and produce (sometimes 😉) to a professional level.

And even though the emphasis will be on entrepreneurs I want to see writing and blogging become more successful on this platform.

I think you hit on a key point here and I would argue that their is possibly a too rigid focus on entrepreneurs in a business sense from some people/communities on steemit. My reasoning is simple; how much value would say an article about creatives earning on steemit in the New York Times review or The Guardian newspaper be worth? Or many such articles across a variety of mainstream print/online media. I see hundreds of articles being produced on steemit at the moment parroting the message 'bring investment to steemit', and I don't disagree, but there is space on this platform for long term perspective and value outside of money coming in, especially in regards to marketing. As the boundaries between traditional publishing and online (self) publishing blur, there is a potential for bringing hundreds of millions of readers to steemit. With HF20 changes they will all have to make a small investment to be part of steemit, or get free accounts from community initiatives. This is all hypothetical of course, but I believe that there should be a community that keeps the great creative writers producing on steemit for these and many other reasons.

Thanks for your thought provoking comment, as you can probably tell, I'm very passionate about this idea🙂

It's normal to be passionate about revolutionizing publishing and content creation :) the possibility to bring meaningful change and better our lives is a powerful driving force. I hope you can keep your passion going until the project's fruition.

@raj808, In my opinion this can be an effective step for sure because it will going to boost the journey of both the Writers and Poets and mainly the appreciable aspect here is, the Dapp will focus upon the Writing Section. And truly speaking in my opinion the SMT Economy truly going to boost the Steem Economy. Keep up the awesome work and good wishes for this project.

Team @sndbox, Keep doing the awesome and supportive work.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed team. 🙂

I absolutely agree with you on both points @chireerocks thanks for your support for my Community/SMT/Dapp idea. And thanks to @sndbox for all the support, advice and inspiration to help grow this idea into something more than a hypothetical 🙂

I am not professional but i am really enthusiastic towards Writing and Poetry sections that's why i am waiting for this DAPP. Good wishes from my side and stay blessed. 🙂



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @f3nix
This post was given a rating of: 0.3032675208882519
This post was voted: 0%

Congratulations @sndbox! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @sndbox!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.555 which ranks you at #140 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 141).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 376 contributions, your post is ranked at #21.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99